All Mod Cons

Last night while chatting with a fabulously talented blogging buddy Caren the topic of kitchen gadgets arose, I would like to take this opportunity of guiding her through the maze of all the latest gadgets here in the cottage in the back of beyond

Of course this is an essential, "The Masher" this will create fully potatoes in an instant, and as Caren rightly said can be used to squeeze the remnants out of teabag thingys
Of course this is an essential, “The Masher” this will create fluffy potatoes in an instant, and as Caren rightly said can be used to squeeze the remnants out of teabag thingys

Next another must have

"The Bean Slicer" yes I know they can be done by hand, but I just love using this time saver and the thrill of the possibility of losing a finger well that merely adds to the excitment
“The Bean Slicer” yes I know they can be done by hand, but I just love using this time saver and the thrill of the possibility of losing a finger well that merely adds to the excitement

Now on to a want product

My lovely, lovely pie moulds, used in the creation of pork pies and other amazing hot water crust pastry delicacies
My lovely, lovely pie moulds, used in the creation of pork pies and other amazing hot water crust pastry delicacies

This last item may be considered an extravagance the ultimate food processor…….for coconuts

Now this beauty is indispensable if you consume lots of Coconuts, it cracks through the shell with ease and the circle on the end is serrated to shred your coconut
Now this beauty is indispensable if you consume lots of Coconuts, it cracks through the shell with ease and the circle on the end is serrated to shred your coconut

So as you see I really have my finger on the pulse for all modern conveniences … and yes they are used

14 thoughts on “All Mod Cons

  1. Thank you so much for guiding me through your amazing collection of ultra modern kitchen gadgets, they are soooo leaps and bounds in advance of mine! 😉
    I am very envious and also extremely curious…do you really make your pork pies that tall?!? I can also see the appeal of the slicer especially for evening meals with vampire guests – ‘black beans basted in blood’ – Yum! Now as for the exquisite device you use to cleave your coconuts, I can’t help wondering…as to…if it also doubles as some medieval torture device for when Beloved doesn’t quite see your point of view? If so. I wonder the ratio of convenient coconut cracking compared its count on consistent convincing capabilities….??? :-):-):-)

    1. I’m so glad you are brought kicking and screaming into the modern era of all things kitchen related, alas Beloved has barred me from the coconut processor as he fears I’ll end up self harming and in his words “It’s a mans gadget” the tall pie mould has been semi retired and is used mainly as poking implement, it’s perfect for an agitator while hand washing and in times of dire necessary I’m sure it’ll come in handy as a cosh now Old Dog isn’t around to defend my morality, as for black beans basted in blood that would be quite a dish for halloween, I’ll embark on a menu for said culinary feast

    1. LOL who would have thought little old me would have my finger on the pulse of new gadgetry for the kitchen, I did hear a rumor that Dublin has the new fangled ‘electricity’ phenomenon is that true ?????

  2. Sounds a bit like my kitchen – my most used items are old butter pats (yes, I make all my own butter!) and ‘proper’ Victorian scales:)

    1. I’d love a pair of butter pats LOL I have a couple of butter moulds, and you can’t beat a pair of ‘proper’ scales (mine sit in my kitchen window) I’m super impressed you make your own butter kudos to you 😀

  3. Perhaps you could make a little film of each of them in action… I would particularly like to see the coconut processor being used… for both smashing and shredding.
    (I’ve got a film of my yarn winder and swift in action somewhere on my blog!)

    1. Now there’s a thought, as you can tell I’m quite hot on the trail of all things new LOL I’ll have to look into video type thingy, I’ll have to track down your films as I’m intrigued to see your winder & swift in acton

      1. I do have a few gadgets, but I don’t seem to get much use out of them. I am not a great cook. Although you wouldn’t know it by looking at me! Lol. I even have a pressure cooker that a co-worker gave me when I retired from my job. I used it once. I do need to try and use them more. Or sell them to someone who will.

      2. I often wonder who dreams up some of the new gadgets, the vintage ones win my vote, I get more use out of my toasting fork than I do my seldom used juicer (that I was sure I really, really needed at the time) same with my cookery books the newer ones are nowhere near used as much as the ones I’ve had for donkeys years

Leave a Reply

