Langton-By-Spilsby

Yesterday I had a stall in the beautiful Lincolnshire countryside in a village called Langton-By-Spilsby, I’d like to show you around the fete

This was the view just to the right of my stall, as I live in the Fens the sight of any hill makes my heart jump for joy,
This was the view just to the right of my stall, as I live in the Fens the sight of any hill makes my heart jump for joy, sad but true

The highlight and major attraction of the fete was the introduction of chicken racing

The chickens don't race per se, the owners put them at the start line all at the same time and the chickens saunter down to the finish line in their own good time, which can take quite a while as the birds play to the crowd stopping for impromptu photo opportunities
The chickens don’t race per se, the owners put them at the start line all at the same time and the chickens saunter down to the finish line in their own good time, which can take quite a while as the birds play to the crowd stopping for impromptu photo opportunities

Right next to my stall the local band called in to give a performance,

My this lot could belt out a tune, the lead singers proud mum was close by videoing the whole gig, mind you I laughed out loud when the set was over the whole crew made the band instead of resorting to the local hostelry as would would expect from the rock & roll lifestyle they are pursuing instead chose to call by the bass guitarists abode for a nice cup of tea
My this lot could belt out a fine tune, the lead singers proud mum was close by videoing the whole gig, mind you I laughed out loud when the set was over the whole crew instead of resorting to the local hostelry as would would expect from the rock & roll lifestyle they are pursuing instead chose to call by the bass guitarists abode for a nice cup of tea

And me ….well I couldn’t resist adding to my fabric stash

This beautiful stall won my heart, who could resist just buying a few little mementoes of such a lovely day
This beautiful stall won my heart, who could resist just buying a few little mementoes of such a lovely day

Ah life in the country,not only an amazing day but all for a good cause, all the money raised by the organisers was donated to the Air Ambulance a very necessary service when the nearest hospital is miles & miles away

14 thoughts on “Langton-By-Spilsby

  1. How wonderful! Mounds of earth, material and musicians – what more could you want? πŸ™‚ And, money to a good cause too. I’d say it sounds like a perfect summer fair πŸ˜‰

    1. I didn’t buy it all….only most of it πŸ™‚ I’m torn between making dresses for rag doll rabbits that can match their inner ears, or a memory quilt that will remind me of places & time or note book covers or ……the list goes on and on LOL

    1. I’ve heard the 5 yard Chicken Dash may be included at the commonwealth games if it’s true back the little grey hen she had an impressive turn of speed LOL

Leave a Reply

