Let’s Party

As well as being the Village Feast yesterday, it was also the day we hosted Gelfling Grandsons birthday party…Beloved & I were up at the crack of dawn getting organised for the shenanigans

Beloved sorted the gazebo out while I pottered around .....ok while I spring cleaned the cottage
Beloved sorted the gazebo out while I pottered around …..ok while I spring cleaned the cottage,

There was a minor hiccup when the road in front of the cottage was closed due to the feast and the chap delivering the bouncy castle was nowhere to be seen, just as Gelfling was about to self combust there was a knock at the door …the castle had arrived

Gelfling could breath again , all was well once more in his little world
Gelfling could breath again , all was well once more in his little world

When Gelflings school friends arrived apart from the bouncy castle, have you any idea what captured their imagination…. a trompe l’oeil Beloved built for me a few years ago

This false door mounted on the wall between our cottage and the barn next door had the kiddos fooled into thinking we had a secret garden
This false door mounted on the wall between our cottage and the barn next door had the kiddos fooled into thinking we had a secret garden…quite effective don’t you think, it can also be seen in the previous photo

 

And of course who could forget Gelfling, Happy Birthday Marley Ian Parry ….Ian like Grandpa

Gelfling actually ate more Ice cream than he ended up spilling down his shirt ....he must be growing up :-D
Gelfling actually ate more Ice cream than he ended up spilling down his shirt ….he must be growing up πŸ˜€
29 thoughts on “Let’s Party

    1. So far it’s fooled every visitor to the cottage, which is a compliment to Beloveds work, once the ivy and climbers have covered the barn wall completely it should look even better

  1. What a wonderful day you had from start to finish yesterday! I hope little Gelfling had a great birthday and lots of fun with his friends, and of course Grandma and Grandpa too πŸ™‚ Your Beloved’s tromp l’oeil is brilliant, and a great focal point on the barn wall! Once you’ve finished your restorations, I would be inclined to hire out his talents at the weekends to create more works of art for others πŸ™‚

    1. Saturday was one of those magical days of memory making, perfect in every way, on a serious note whenever redundancy rears it’s ugly head at Beloveds workplace he has considered should he be selected to leave, becoming self employed creating hand-crafted kitchens (did you see mine on my previous blog?), objects d’art and the like. How much fun is a bouncy castle….at one point I even let the small people have a go ….once I’d had my jelly & ice cream they were evicted again so I could resume my acrobatics πŸ˜€

      1. The uncertainty of The Workplace is a big reality for many these days… but, I have no doubt that your Beloved would make a good living from all his handicrafts and talents,should he make that decision, I do remember your beautiful kitchen too! πŸ™‚

        LOL! I have this wonderful vision of a line of small children lining up with bowls of ice cream and jelly to bribe you off the bouncy castle, though I do wonder if acrobatics in a bustle is such a good idea?!? ;-/ I’m sure you all had a great day to remember for a long time! πŸ™‚

      2. I’m now beginning to wonder if I brought Gelflings party into disrepute by showing an ankle while on the bouncy castle…..the shame

      3. Unfortunately the lesson may not have been learned as ‘Boss Lady’ has enquired if I could possibly be left in charge of the bouncy castle at ‘The Workplace’ summer fate, she knows full well I will not be able to abstain from hurling myself about on said castle LOL

      4. There is an obvious solution to this dilemma, crochet a pair of ankle obscurer s and I see no reason then to keep you off the castle! πŸ™‚
        Have Fun!!!

    1. There was a moment of pure panic when the road was closed and we wondered if the man would be able to get through !!!! thank you for your lovely comment on Beloveds fake door πŸ™‚

      1. Actually it was Beloved & I that panicked the most, Gelfling has the utter belief that if it was to go astray we would have a plan B …..we didn’t LOL

    1. Many thanks for your comment on Beloveds handiwork, It’s quite a simple yet effective optical illusion and he completed it within a day if I remember correctly. Marley had a wonderful day…even though I had to be careful not to photograph any one else’s child for this post and the connotations that brings. I’ll pass on your warm wishes x

  2. It’s so great when you love your party as much as the invitees. Studying your trompe l’oeil very carefully. I’ve used mirrors in the garden and even that simple bit of whimsy brightens up the place. Yours is spectacular. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

Leave a Reply

