The Legacy

Although the ‘Designer Bathroom’ is still awaiting curtains…the great fabric shop will commence soon I assure you, Beloved & I decided why wait, let’s make a start on the master bedroom renovation, the burning question was “Will we find what we are looking for ?” I stripped a little wallpaper off, Beloved tapped where a modicum of re-plastering had been done, then it was time for the hammer & chisel

Woo Hoo there is a fireplace opening, the thought of being laid in bed of a winters night with a fire in the grate is my idea of heaven
Woo Hoo there is a fireplace opening, the thought of being laid in bed of a winter’s night with a fire in the grate is my idea of heaven

There is just the small problem of the last tenants legacy, you see every spring we sub let part of our home…well the chimney to be exact, to Mr & Mrs Jackdaw who over the years have filled their new home with little knick knacks

Huston we have a problem...the chimney is stuffed full of sticks !!
Huston we have a problem…the chimney is stuffed full of sticks !!

So now Mr & Mrs Jackdaw and their brood have moved into their winter residence we can clear the chimney and begin the ‘Great Re-claimed Fireplace Hunt’ the cast iron fire-place in my crafting den only took 6 months to find, which gives us plenty of time to renovate and create the room of my dreams …there is just a wall to move, insulation, dry lining, plastering oh and a million & one other things to first πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “The Legacy

  1. Do not worry about Mr and Mrs Jackdaw,they will rebuild their new home in a while,the fireplace was worth their moving… Beautiful!!!! I know that DIY sometimes can be exhausting, but you’re doing a wondeful job at yours………. I’m so jealous…. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    1. We still have 2 spare Chimneys up for rent as we haven’t re-installed the kitchen or Beloveds study fireplaces as the rooms aren’t quite big enough, so come spring I fully expect them back, and although winter is’t the best time to have all the windows open due to the builders dust I just had to wait till Mr & Mrs Jackdaw were ready to move out !!

      1. You know,that’s why I love blogging so much!!!Because I met people like you who with two words warm my heart πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      2. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ll remember that when I have a gale blowing through the cottage because all the windows are open LOL still at least Mr & Mrs Jackdaw will have a new tenancy agreement waiting for them next spring

    1. I can remember being a girl and my parents house having a fireplace in their bedroom, I can also remember them taking it out…funny how things always go around πŸ™‚

  2. How wonderful! πŸ˜€ I should imagine you know exactly what you want the Master Bedroom to look like already…let the excitement of searching for it all begin! I’m sure Mr & Mrs Jackdaw won’t mind renting right next to their previous abode, though they might put up a bit more of a squawk about their possessions being moved ;-/ Mind you Mrs. Jackdaw might see this as a perfect opportunity for a makeover too. πŸ™‚

    1. How many nick knacks does Mrs Jackdaw have !!!!! I swear there is half a tree shoved into the chimney, I must be sure to let Mr pigeon the letting agent know that although this apartment is no longer for rent the kitchen penthouse is up for grabs πŸ™‚ come spring I’ll make a welcome box of wool scraps, a little toy stuffing and fabric offcuts & set it up in the garden as an apology for moving all the jackdaws possessions LOL

      1. I’m sure Mr. Pigeon will be pleased to prepare new particulars for the penthouse!
        It’s obvious that Mrs. Jackdaw wasn’t one for maintaining her nick knacks with a good spring clean every year, rather she was a compulsive collector, this should make your apology gift in instant hit for her soft furnishing in the new apartment πŸ™‚

  3. Looks good Mrs P but where do the birdys go in the winter time ? Cant wait to see it all done and your special room, Neurotic Cat will love the fire place πŸ™‚ ❀ Angel Atticus

    1. Jackdaws migrate in winter, sort of south and a little west of the cottage, so that’s why my mum can clear the chimney now it’s autumn but she will have to put a cowl on the chimney pot in early spring so the birds don’t fall down the chimney, my dad say’s he will leave the kitchen & study chimneys open so the birds can roost in them
      Love
      Neurotic Cat x

      1. That is so cool Neurotic Cat but I bets your not allowed to hunt those Birdys.. but maybe you could make friends with them when they come home after the winter ❀ Angel πŸ™‚

      2. Mum says I can look but not touch the birds, which is only fair I wouldn’t want to upset them as they are lovely to have around
        ❀ Neurotic Cat

  4. We have a thrush family that comes back every year to a spot on the sill under our window air conditioner. I’m thinking they would love your chimney more. Our chimney, and we only have one, has a hood and grate around it to keep varmints and birds out. Mighty unfriendly, eh? Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    1. As we have 5 chimneys and now 3 will be in use we will put cowls on those but leave the other 2 for nesting birds ….I’ve seen the Alfred Hitchcock film The Birds so don’t want to annoy them too much LOL

Leave a Reply

