Yarn Busting

Forgive me for it is one week since I last blogged…in my defence I have been busy, a finished shawl and a little yarn busting to boot
First let me give you a little glimpse of the 2nd Chance Shawl

Isn't it a little beauty ? I did take a full artistic laid out shot but the Autumn sun is so pale  and with the cottage windows being low the light is a tad rubbish
The pattern is by Amiee Alexander Β and isn’t it a little beauty ? I did take a full artistic laid out shot but the Autumn sun is so pale and with the cottage windows being low the light is a tad rubbish, so this is the best shot I could manage

I really need to use some of my oddments of yarn as Beloved is getting a little anxious at the stack of yarn I’ve managed to amass, anyone would think it was unnatural to hoard crafting supplies …which it isn’t …is it ??? so this is what I came up with

A selection of hats all hopefully going to new homes at next weekends craft fair, see how I managed to incorporate my button flowers of the ladies hats ?? the new born rabbit eared hat is sooo darn cute
A selection of hats all hopefully going to new homes at next weekends craft fair, see how I managed to incorporate my button flowers of the ladies hats ?? I even attempted my first crochet hat ..not too shabby, and the new-born rabbit eared hat is sooo darn cute

I’ve also started a new project something I thought about a while ago and now finally I have got round to it

A little teaser of what is on my needles at the moment ..hopefully it will resemble what I'm aiming for
A little teaser of what is on my needles at the moment ..hopefully it will resemble what I’m aiming for,

And finally nothing to with knitting

I'm not sure if you believe in ghost Angel feathers, but I do and look what I found on my bedroom floor this morning,
I’m not sure if you believe in Ghost Angel feathers, but I do and look what I found on my bedroom floor this morning, as I’ve been suffering with cluster headaches for a while now and have managed to book an appointment at the Dr’s next week I’m taking this as a sign all will be OK
26 thoughts on “Yarn Busting

  1. What a productive week – LOVE the bunny hat! I must confess to feeling a little faint at the thought of not having a mountain of craft supplies/yarn/fabric surrounding me like a huge comfort blanket!

    1. Thank you, my rabbit eared hats do tend to sell quite well, I think I could knit every one in the village one and still have enough wool to keep a serious addict in yarn bliss, and we all need a little wool in our lives don’t we LOL

  2. I’m so sorry to hear that you have been suffering with such terrible headaches, I hope your Dr appointment next week can help sort them out asap, hopefully its just the stress and strain of daily life (and the worry of where to hide your yarn stashes from Beloved;-) ) with any luck Dr will prescribe you a months rest in the Caribbean !!! You definitely deserve it after all the knitting(and crocheting) fury you have been up to this last week, your creations are beautiful and congratulations on a stunning Second chance shawl – I can’t wait to find out what your new project is going to be!?! πŸ™‚

    1. I think you may have a point about the headaches being related to stress, the worry of where to hide ‘The Yarn Mountain’ is becoming an obsession …not helped in the least when during the Master Bedroom Renovation Beloved removed a door to reveal the cupboard over the stairs ….where even I had forgotten I’d placed a few choice balls of wool, well 2 boxes to be precise, to try and combat this hoarding of sheep clippings I’ve taken to buying books on how to best use my stash ….I now have quite a library of these and I’ve taken to placing them in little nooks & crannies around the cottage so it’s not immediately obvious how many I actually own LOL so if Dr Medic can prescribe a nice little room with padded walls for month or so to dwindle my ‘yarn stock’ down to a manageable size I’d be grateful, and of course I could always offer him/her a nice knitted outfit for their troubles πŸ™‚

      1. Oh my dear….it is no wonder you are suffering! How unfortunate that your Beloved has unearthed your hidden treasures – which you had momentarily forgotten about! Simply, you had the need to amass these products on a lonely stint whilst he was vacant and in The Capital! Why else would you have acquired them????! I’m sure under the circumstances Beloved can excuse the hoarding factor….? It is such a good thing that you have accumulated such a vast and widely dispersed collection of reading materials…if you could just wedge them at a slight angle, you should be able to hide a couple of balls of yarn behind each one as well!!! πŸ˜‰ Just think how happy the world population of sheep would be if they knew you had so many of their clippings waiting to be created into a new fashions – I do hope Dr medic feels the need to section you next week! What a luxurious break, to be holed up in a padded cell, whiling the hours away producing crafty new things for all your up coming fairs πŸ˜‰ !

      2. Wow, LOVE the idea of stashing yarn behind my newly acquired reading material πŸ™‚
        I think I’ve convinced Beloved I’m starting a lending library of crafting books, which will be much sort after by the ‘Village Ladies’ of course I now need to improve my selection of reference material…imagine the shame if some fictitious customer arrived at my door & I didn’t have the requested tome LOL
        Wouldn’t you know it, while ‘resting’ on the fainting couch partaking of a customary bar of chocolate I had an amazing idea for a fabric related creation…I’m sure it’s no coincidence my sewing machine is at the back of my crafting den behind a stack of boxes deposited while the Master Bedroom under goes major cosmetic surgery, the only way I could possibly reach the darn thing is if Bear Grylls accompanies me on a expedition, *Sorry I’ve now wondered off into a whole world of adventures with Bear, I’ll get back in touch whenever* Mmmmmm drooool

      3. Its so good to read that you are quite flexible with your OCD’s and I think it’s a wonderful idea to start a lending library – I should start jotting down all the fictitious members names immediately – that should be more than justification for your Beloved when he sees the next shipment arrive LOL πŸ˜‰
        I hope all the cosmetic changes in the Master Bedroom are progressing as planned…its such a nuisance to have your creative space lumbered up especially when a creative bug bites you!
        Goodness is it midweek treat time already ??? What an indulgence chocolate and percolating thoughts of Bear Grylls BOTH at the same time on the couch….now I’m not sure if the drooooooling is because of the chocolate or Bear ???? That is a hard one….I’ll put it down to both ! πŸ˜‰

      4. The’ Lending Library’ acquired a new journal only today, this time I’ve branched out and bought a knitting murder mystery, sure to be a great hit with the Ladies should their Betrothed not be picked for the Burning of the Wicker Man
        What guilty pleasures …chocolate and Mr Grylls if only I didn’t feel quite so sick from the chocolate, I figured I’d eat the whole bar in lieu of lunch, not the greatest idea I’ve ever had LOL, still it was fruit & nut so just think of the protein, calcium, and a fruit portion to boot
        I have news on a Master Bedroom purchase in an up and coming post πŸ™‚

      5. LOL sounds like a real ripping yarn…I wonder if its the one where the unsuspecting male became entangled in the wool stash??? At this rate your homestead is likely to become super insulated from all the reading materials lining your walls, nooks and crannies Hmm…maybe you could tell your Beloved they double up as draught excluder s πŸ˜‰
        I hope it wasn’t too much of a fall from the chocolate and Bear high you achieved yesterday, I imagine you were super charged after all the sugars and protein LOL
        Oooo, how exciting I wonder if it will be what I think??? Look forward to that post! πŸ˜‰

    1. Awww many thanks for your lovely comment, now the 2nd Chance Shawl is done, I ought to crack on with my first shawl LO…. after the craft fair πŸ™‚

  3. Aww. I am sorry about the headaches. I certainly hope you find some relief really soon.
    I love the pattern on your Second Chance Shawl. It is so uniquely pretty. All of your hats are lovely as well. I wish that I could knit as well as you. I get really stressed when I knit. I practically hold my breath for fear that I will drop a stitch.
    Feel well soon!

    1. Thank you for you lovely comment, funny you should mention getting stressed about knitting, I feel exactly the same about crochet, I break out in a sweat just reading a pattern, I’m persevering bu,t oh my does it have to be sooooo hard LOL

  4. I got home from Croatia a few hours ago and the first thing to do,after a long chat with my BM,was to look what you’ve published in the meantime…. your posts are always soooooooo joyful for me!! ❀ ❀ ❀ The 2nd Chance Shawl looks sooooo beutiful!!I'm in love !! ❀

    1. Oh Tajana, what a wonderful thing to say, you have brought a tear to my eye, I hope you had a lovely time with your family, managed to get plenty of knitting done, had plenty of laughter and made lots of happy memories ❀ ❀ ❀

      1. ❀ ❀ ❀ So many hugs to you up there in beautiful England!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I'm just writing a post with few words (too tired …) and some photos….. I had a wonderful time,in particular with my nephews….. πŸ™‚

  5. The shawl is very pretty, and I like all three of the hats. Especially the little bunny ears. They are so adorable. I am sorry to hear you are having headaches. THey can be a real bother. The feather is surely a sign everything will be okay. Sending prayers your way as well. Take care and good luck with your craft sale on November 1. πŸ™‚

    1. many thanks for your lovely comment Cheryll, I’m off to the Drs next week so hopefully we can discover why I’m being plagued with headaches, your prayers are most welcome, I’ve kept the feather to remind me there is always someone watching over me, I’ll do a post on the craft fair at the beginning of next week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

