Oh I didn’t know

It started as a simple comment from a colleague at ‘The Workplace’

“Oh I didn’t know you were artistic !”

This really made me stop and think …does the stereotypical misconception still Β hold true, that you are just ever so slightly bonkers ?

Do folks think you paint your cat or something ?
Do folks think you paint your cat or something ? oh by the way I didn’t … I don’t even pain my nails πŸ™‚

Perhaps if I dye my hair magenta, tie dye my blouse, wear leggings and Doc Martin boots, throw a knitted stole around my shoulders, wear over sized hand crafted jewellery, oh and carry around one of my rag doll rabbits then it would be more obvious that I can knit …..

I am thinking of up dating my image….;-)

21 thoughts on “Oh I didn’t know

    1. LOL The fact that I call my pet ‘Neurotic Cat’ should have alerted folks that I have hidden secrets πŸ˜‰ No doubt not all the bohemian dress individuals are crafter’s, where as ALL plain Jane’s do have undiscovered talents

      1. Well,I was thinking….. you maybe do not look as an artist but you are one,indeed!! Sometimes it had happened to me to receive some pitying gazes as I said that I crochet and knit….. maybe because in Italy the prejudice is “highly listed”…. now,when I go around with my hand made goodies nobody dares to say anything….. it was really high time…..

      2. How would any one DARE say anything untoward when they see your hand crafted works of art….they are amazing, you ought to introduce yourself as ‘A Yarn Artist’ then watch the expression move from pity to awe πŸ™‚

  1. I liked the fact that it’s secret, that people don’t know that about me. Though I do live in leggings, own some DMs and am prone to wearing outsize rings (tho NOT homemade!) so clearly I need to improve on that!

    1. Yep you would be spotted as being ‘Artistic’ a mile off LOL I do smile how folks make an assumption of your character by what you have chosen to wear that day I might dress as a fairy tomorrow and see what that throws up πŸ™‚

  2. Haha love this post. I would defo say you should carry around one of your rabbits at all times and work a bit of tie-dye into your wardrobe πŸ™‚

    1. I do love tie dye πŸ™‚ perhaps a few blood red high lights when I have my hair done next week would give folks the heads up that I have a creative side, or that I’m a total eccentric LOL

    1. I’m off into the garden looking for moss and the like for an Au Natural dye….Beloved will have to forfeit his Saturday evening bathing regime as I need the bath to have a go at sprucing up the old sack cloth day dress.
      Do you know how much effort goes into this new make over malarkey πŸ™‚
      How’s the tooth grin holding up ??

      1. I’m sure the end result will be worth all your hard labours, though natural dyes can be so unpredictable, and twud be a crying shame should your sack cloth dress be ruined by unsatisfactory colour, perhaps you could combine Beloved having first dip in the moss dye??? …just tell him its the new craze for softer skin!!!, at least that way he still gets his weekly bathing regime and whilst you towel dry him you could assess whether you want to take the risk of your dress coming out the same colour as Beloved???? Just make sure there is no vanity mirror in the room and he will probably not even notice he has taken on a slight hue πŸ˜‰
        My toothy grin is set for foreign climes this weekend, Wales won’t know what’s hit them as I flash it all around, though to be honest the wonderful job done by Mr Dentist is still taking some getting used to, my first reaction to him whilst still in the chair upside down was ‘….ooooo! feels like you’ve put clogs on my teeth ;-/…!’ to which he replied, I wasn’t far off really!!!
        Your completed makeover could set standards very high for all of us with eccentricities you do realise ??? I might have to rethink my bustle in boots day wear after all πŸ˜‰

      2. Alas I’m at ‘The Workplace’ so Beloved will have to bathe unsupervised ….which is never a good idea as I just know he’ll take the opportunity to kill 2 birds with one stone, and wash his undergarments in the same water !!! I just hope Neurotic Cat makes a run for it as she could well be in line for a scrub behind her ears, as Beloved is not above re cycling the tub water LOL
        Oh my goodness a visit to far away, foreign speaking climes, no doubt until you get properly acquainted with your tooth others may think you are speaking Gaelic, so I wouldn’t be surprised if you come home with a sheep or two after a local mis interprets your request for a cup of tea !!!
        Great news on my makeover I’m booked in at the coiffeuse next week and I’m having a radical re think should I exchange my blue rinse for a lavender one ????
        Have a great weekend πŸ™‚ please let me know how the fashionable ladies on your travels are dressed

      3. My goodness, so much could have happened during my jolly jaunt – I hope your show-piece bathroom was as you left it-and Neurotic cat too? Very brave of you to let your Beloved have unsupervised access for his weekly bathing regime, I have visions of crocheted longjohns, string vests and darned knitted woolly socks dangling from all manner of places I must assume that the local pawnbroker was closed this Friday??? πŸ˜‰
        The weekend in Wales went wonderfully, strangers did seem a little confused by my uncoordinated tongue and tooth inquiries as I bustled down the high street (of course I wore my latest tucked in boots fashion) but I managed to grin along anyway ;-/ I think most people assumed I was out on a long day release from some English Asylum and that my utterances were just the ramblings of a mad woman which they tried to ignore as the overly excited me and little crowd of family celebrated ; our Daughter’s birthday and achieving her PhD on Friday, as well as it being a pre 21st gathering for our Son too (as his busy music schedule dictates not being able to be there on the day 😦 )… and then being whisked off to watch him play his violin in a mega Concert culminating in a Family gathering at a Mexican restaurant – with a French waiter…now, even I got confused then…how on earth should I request a Stout ??? in English, French or Spanish??? LOL πŸ™‚ It was a very crammed couple of days, needless to say much lounging on the chaise has been needed to reflect, not only upon the joyous time had by all….but, just how many people moved aside to let us pass through as they glimpsed my extra coal polished new tooth!!! All that effort definitely paid off…a bit jealous, I reckon they were! There was lots of stifled Gaelic whispers behind hands as I passed by but I didn’t manage to accumulate any sheep… such as shame really… I could have had them herded down to your good self fin the Tangled Backwoods as a new walking stash of wool! ;-/ The Welsh ladies did seem very protective of their sheep as they were spinning in their native costumes

        Their hats are certainly a step up from our everyday mop caps!!! πŸ™‚
        Do let me know about the bath chamber and whether from now on, Beloved is back on the draining board?!? πŸ˜‰

      4. What an adventure you have been upon…Chronicles of Narnia pale into insignificance at the side of your tales of travels into a unknown lands ..who would have thought Wales was sooo multi cultural, a Mexican restaurant forsooth !!!! I gather the chippy was shut then LOL
        I’m not surprised much lounging on the chaise has been required after such exertions, how wonderful to have had your clan about your person.
        Looking at the vision of the Welsh ladies fashions I still think yours is a cut above…..although I’m rather taken with the hats…just think what we would be able to stash away under there.
        Beloved has been banished to The Capital ALL week after his misdemeanour’s in the bathing chamber, he took full advantage of my absence and wash both pairs of his flannel undergarments in preparation for our over sea’s visit…we leave at the weekend, at least they are a fetching shade of palest green, I took your advice on testing my homely remedy for tie dye, it worked a treat I’m just not sure the natives will be ready for Beloveds eccentric fashion statement ;-0

      5. LOL! It sounds like your Beloved is paying his penance…not only being banished to hard labour in The Capital, but also sporting a faded incredible hulk look ;-/ with any luck an extra scrub in the butler sink might see him more presentable in time for your exotic escape at the weekend πŸ™‚ !!! I hope you have your private journal and quill already packed to make notes about all the exciting activities during your expedition and hopefully Beloved survives water bathing in his crocheted one piece!…Whatever happens, I hope you have a lovely time and I’m looking forward to hearing all about it on your return πŸ™‚

  3. What does artistic look like anyway? You think from a different part of your brain; you see with a different eye; you live outside the box, not because you prefer it, but because that’s where you live. Leonardo said “If you knew how much work went into it you wouldn’t call it genius.” Jo @ Let’s Face the Music PS Thank goodness the person didn’t say “crafty”.

    1. Many thanks for your comment, I hope you don’t mind but I’d rather like to steal your quote, the next time someone comments I don’t look artistic I’ll retort “Ah that’s where I live” and leave them to ponder the reply … I did laugh at your PS πŸ™‚

  4. Ha! Gotta love those stereotypes! I’m looking forward to seeing photos of your “artistic” makeover… I might even take some of your style tips on board for myself! Mind you, I must confess to pretty much living in my Docs for the last decade or so πŸ™‚ Does that mean I have an artistic streak, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

