Crafts from Cuba

The folks in Cuba have very few resources, what they do have is imagination and tenacity, there is a culture of art, literature, and an emerging craft industry where recycling and imaginative crafts are coming to the fore, excuse the photo heavy post as I show you some amazing crafts

Beloved loves wood ...I know strange but it keeps him happy, I love crafts so this little guy just had to come home with us, he now resides in the Designer Bathroom will our eclectic range of travel mementoes, yes I am aware it's a strange place to display our treasures
Beloved loves wood …I know strange but it keeps him happy, I love crafts so this little guy just had to come home with us, he now resides in the Designer Bathroom with our expanding eclectic range of travel mementoes, yes I am aware it’s a strange place to display our treasures

 

Continuing on the wood theme, the ring & thimble  were originally bought as keepsakes for other people....but I'm a bad bad person & kept them for myself, I bought them a bottle of rum each instead
Continuing on the wood theme, the ring & thimble were originally bought as keepsakes for other people….but I’m a bad, bad person & kept them for myself, I bought them a bottle of rum each instead
Beloved & I spent a morning at a social project where all the community are self supported, I was fortunate enough to come across a guy making this note book all from re-cycled paper the art work is his own to boot
Beloved & I spent a morning at a social project where all the community are self supported, I was fortunate enough to come across a guy making this note-book all from re-cycled paper the art work is his own to boot
Beloved is still kicking himself that he didn't buy this, what can I say other than I told you so
Beloved is still kicking himself that he didn’t buy this, what can I say other than I told you so
Not sure who the folks are photo bombing my picture, but your on the web now
Not sure who the folks are photo bombing my picture, but hey Β you are on the web now

I hope you enjoyed a little peek into the crafts of Cuba, many thanks to all the artists who works I now have in at the cottage on the green, there are a few more but I thought I’d quit while I still had your attention x

13 thoughts on “Crafts from Cuba

    1. Awww thank you, alas I don’t have a unicorn only a Neurotic Cat ….who has a panache for unicorns and all thing crafty, Beloved & I relocated to Lincolnshire just over 7 yrs ago, we are 25 miles from Lincoln and frequent visitors if only to traipse up and down Steep Hill LOL

  1. What a wonderful post! πŸ™‚ As you know making things from little resources is close to my heart too so I fully appreciate their creativity and lovely items and can’t wait to see more discoveries from your trip. I think it a wise move to selfishly keep the little wooden ring and thimble, especially as it meant you could ‘unload’ some of that rum that Cuban’s seem to love so much! Maybe Beloved could install himself in his man cave with the inspiration to try and recreate that beautiful piece of art he didn’t buy or maybe sharpen a few chisels to sculpt some ornamental wood creations – WOW imagine the quiet time you would get to immerse yourself in a complicated knitting pattern!!!

    1. Beloved is still kicking himself at leaving the art work behind, I did tell him to buy it !! Once the cottage has been fully renovated Beloved has promised me a dolls house hand built by his good self replicating our cottage, so maybe that will inspire him to create all kind of goodies just think I’ll be able to knit uninterrupted to hearts content …there is just the small matter of finishing the cottage first LOL

      1. Goodness…poor Beloved, not only has he to eventually finished your dwelling renovations, he’s somehow managed to make a pact with himself to do it all over again in miniature?!? LOL Surely that is more than the average man should put himself through, what love he has for your homestead and You too of course! He can be nothing short of a little ‘Super Hero’…perhaps you should craft a little bunny in his honour, as he toils away with tiny chisels and the like, maybe even his initials on a little cape too!?!
        πŸ˜‰

      2. Beloved walked straight into the miniature cottage replication quite by chance…I gave him the sob story of never having a dolls house as a girl & how it was the one thing I really wanted …bless him how could he back out hehehehe

      3. Aww so sweet!… and you’ll get the little doll’s house you’ve always wanted. At least it should prove cheaper to decorate and furnish…when it eventually gets made! πŸ˜‰

    1. Thank you, I love the way each item brings back vivid moments of out time in an amazing country, each has a story to tell and brings a ray of sunshine into the cottage πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

