Donkey !!!!!!!

Last night when I got home from ‘The Workplace’ Beloved took my hand and into placed a gift from our 2 most dear friends,

Shell saw this and thought of you, I laughed until I cried
“Ms Dear Friend saw this fridge magnet and thought of you” I laughed until I cried … sorry for the rubbish photo the light in the cottage is poor !!

You may be a little quizzical about the reference, let me explain, Donkey is the nickname Beloved has bestowed upon me, let me give you an example while renovating the cottage any help with hard labour and all you will hear is “Oh its fine Donkey will help me !”

Mr Dear Friend was a tad perplexed, he asked how Beloved had achieved to get the beam above the kitchen range ? who assisted him with the … excuse the phrase ‘ Bloody Heavy’ (Edited version for your delicate constitution) York stone work surfaces in the utility and larder?

Beloved ” Donkey”

What about the digging of the garden wall trench?

"Donkey ..I don't think your trench is straight "
“Donkey ..I don’t think your trench is straight ” this photo was taken about 4 years ago now …notice the shiny pick axe Beloved bought me for my birthday, I know I’m a lucky girl !!

Mr Dear Friend wondered if I might be offended by such a glamorous moniker? No I’m appreciative to be fit and able enough for my services to be called upon.

While we have been renovating our cottage, Mr & Ms Dear Friend have actually BUILT their own cottage, the only previous experience building work the 2 of them have is when they built a garden wall !!!!

I forgot to ask what Mr Dear friend shouts when he needs his dearest’s assistance? perhaps he calls her by her real name…when I find out I’ll let you know πŸ˜€

20 thoughts on “Donkey !!!!!!!

    1. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Mr & Ms Dear Friend also now call me Donkey LOL which will be amusing when Mr Dear Friend will be helping us with the rendering of the cottage next summer, I’ll be knocking the rendering off, while Beloved & Mr Dear Friend will be replacing & painting it,as we live right in the centre of the village no doubt my nickname will be common to the whole place by the end.

      1. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Next summer will be quite interesting up there in Lincolnshire….. sorry I’m not able to be present at this nice performance πŸ™‚

  1. LOL! How thoughtful are your Mr. & Mrs Dear Friends?!? To probably spend their whole day, or more, searching out a little effigy in the likeness of your nickname it’s so thoughtful of them! I love that Beloved buys you such practical gifts, though you do look like you are doing hard labour alone…I hope this wasn’t punishment for making gravy with lumps in ???

    1. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Beloved and I have a deal going on…I knock everything down, basically I ruin the place, then he rebuilds, makes it all nice, and I take most of the credit LOL
      How did you know about the gravy!!! who’s been talking?? I like to think I’m multi skilled in the gravy making department…you have 2 options you can slice it or grate it

      1. Your methods sound like it could work very well in a Sunday roast picnic meal – just remember to take along a knife and whetstone or a grater – et voilΓ  !!!
        Commandeering ‘most’ of the credit….indeed!.. without your valiant efforts of destruction in the first place…however would progression and improvement occur ??? From now on, I think all should agree (especially Beloved) the end result is all down to your good self!!! πŸ˜‰

  2. Love the Donkey magnet! Now I don’t feel too bad. When my Mom needs someone to help her carry things, I tell people I am her pack mule! Two animals I do love besides my horses! You really are a hard worker. I am afraid I would have keeled over from exhaustion. At least you get a beautifully done cottage at the end of the work. πŸ™‚

      1. Oh send me a picture! I will be having a picture of my donkey in one of my up coming posts. I decided to take some pictures of my farrier the last time he was here to trim my horses feet. πŸ™‚

      2. I don’t have a picture of Mr C the donkey ….why he’s called that I have no idea !!! I’ll have to ask 2nd Born if he has a photo of him.
        I’ll catch up on all your posts in the New Year when I get some time off work till then Best Wishes xx

      3. My donkey is called Jenny. Because that is what she is, a Jenny. Not very original I know but I can never think of any names most of the time. Most of our animals came with the names they have, or Hubby names them. Mr. C’s owner had some imagination. πŸ˜€
        I know you are probably busy with getting back into a routine. I am always behind on everyone’s posts. Have a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year! πŸ™‚

      4. Awww Jenny is THE perfect name, I won’t be back into the swing of things until at least the 2nd week in January as I’m working all over Christmas & the New Year, 10th January is when my rota returns back to normal, hopefully I can catch up with everyone then ….that’s if no one has forgotten about me !!!

      5. I won’t forget about you! I miss your posts and your comments. The comments help me stay on track and let me know I am not getting too far off track. See you when you can get settled and relax. You have been busy and getting back into a routine after a wonderful holiday in Cuba. Happy New Year!
        .

      6. Happy New Year to you too, hopefully I’ll get back into the blogging routine once my next long stint at ‘The Workplace’ is over ❀

Leave a Reply

