“Wall coming Down Dear”

Beloved yelled downstairs, “I’m just taking the wall down Dear” we had discussed said wall, as our airing cupboard is rather on the large side …and to be frank I don’t need a huge airing cupboard, so we came to the conclusion we would pinch a foot or two to extend the walk in wardrobe,

You did say we were going ahead with the plan to remove the wall didn't you??
You did say we were going ahead with the plan to remove the wall didn’t you?? we were hoping it would be a stud wall, just our luck it turns out to be breeze block !!

So yet again the cottage is covered in what seems a foot of dust…deep sigh

I'm not sure if Beloved is going grey because of me or the dust
This is the view from the airing cupboard, I’m not sure if Beloved is going grey because of me or the dust, either way he’s overdue Β a hair cut LOL

Beloved K9 & I took half an hour out to fetch Gelfling Grandson from school

Beloved & Gelfling are now hard at work taking the rest of the wall down
Gelfling is adamant he is going to help Grandpa to take the rest of the wall down, which is fine by me πŸ™‚

I suppose I ought to flick round with the feather duster because our annual leave is over tomorrow and our work lives take over again for a while

14 thoughts on ““Wall coming Down Dear”

  1. Oh we did the same and I still love it. The dust was awful, I covered the “construction ground” with wet blankets and we closed the doors, but the dust was everywhere…. the highlight was our tile-guy, after finishing his work and after we finished the cleaning, he came and said he forgot one tile, we said no problem… and then he came with the grinder and cut a tile in my kitchen….nightmare…:o)

    1. No doubt you can laugh about the tile grinding situation now πŸ™‚
      I suppose the dust is a small price to pay in return for a sympathetically renovated cottage, which when fully completed we would never have been able to afford, it was only because of the state it was in and having the guts to go for it that we will end up with a cottage to call our own

  2. Ooooooo!!!!! A larger walk in wardrobe – sounds brilliant!!! I’m sure the dust will settle soon, and of course, your Beloved’s hair, will, in time, get attended to…[Much MORE important things to be considering] (is there a Grecian 2015 version….I wonder???) I’m sure whilst you are damping down the dust, you are also calculating the amount of new available (to be) hanging space for YOU in the extra large wardrobe………..thought this might help!?…
    http://www.bhg.com/home-improvement/advice/measuring-materials/closet-capacity-calculator/
    ;-D
    This, soon to be, extra empty space must surely be a reason to spend the money burning a hole in your pocket, without a doubt???! LOL

    I bet Gelfling Grandson was THE BEST organiser you could have wished for! I’m sure his assistance was invaluable to the completion of the wall removal….If only, he could have been there from the start πŸ˜€

    1. Beloved has been despatched to the local barber, just in time for him to meet Kate Silverton from the BBC news … an annual back patting corporate evening do, which fortunately I’m wayyy to busy to attend (please read that as I wasn’t invited LOL) which now gives me bargaining power on the walk in wardrobe allocation πŸ™‚ I’ve just about tamed the dust, I have gathered enough to feed a family of 4 for at least 6 weeks, but as Beloved is away until Thursday evening I’m going whip a non dust menu until his return as I’d hate him to miss my al a carte dust/rubble concoctions.
      Gelfling was a ‘great help’ (Beloveds tongue in cheek quote not mine) apparently he organised Beloved on all matters wall removing even giving his toy tool box a rigorous workout ( Gelfling not Beloved) for now it’s back to the grindstone fitting in renovations as and where we can, one day it’ll all be lovely …a daily mantra LOL

      1. LOL! I expect you have all manner of entrΓ©es, desserts and in-betweens lined up to save a trip to the local tip. You could offer open house to all roaming bunnies, the entrΓ©es would be perfect for a quick tooth trimming session for them, in fact, any one you know who might be a bit ”long in the tooth”! πŸ˜‰
        I bet Gelfling was thrilled to bring the wall removal to a conclusion!!…knowing it couldn’t have been such a success without his presence πŸ˜‰ After all, how else is he to learn about all his tools and to delegate???
        It was jolly decent of the corporate organisers not to bother you with an invite!!…they obviously knew it would just cause inconvenience at such a crucial planning stage and take up your precious time having to plume a refusal! I hope you managed to scrawp out a little square, in the now dustless void, for your Beloved’s necessities, naturally you’ll be able to condense it more on the actual move in day…I expect a shoe box size space will be more than adequate πŸ˜€

      2. πŸ™‚ I figure if Beloved keeps his suitcase permanently packed he may not need any wardrobe space at all LOL, of cause he might disagree, in which case I’ve allocated him a small draw in a yet to be purchased tall boy, I figure if he can become accustomed to a compact and bijou storage arrangement nothing need ever change

      3. Hahahaha πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ !!! Your wardrobe planning sounds like it went extremely well, so much thought obviously went into how little your Beloved needs as well – after all, which man should need more than a set of …’wash, dry and wear’ to complete his toggery LOL πŸ˜€
        Do you REALLY think he needs a whole tallboy draw???? πŸ˜‰

      4. Mmmmm now you have got me thinking, is a full draw a little profuse ???? I know we have been married 30 odd years, still I don’t want him thinking he’s got his feet under the table. I still refer to him as my 1st husband, just so he doesn’t get a little too complacent. As for his toggery its 1 on 1 in the wash and sacking for the days between, it’s served him well so far, not forgetting his authentic mobster suit he only acquired last autumn there must be another 60 years worth of wear in that..

      5. Goodness!! It would seem I have been way too over generous all these years allowing My Dearest a wash, Dry and Wear set of togs….I shall be tightening my reigns from now on, no running up another set as one wears out, as it’s coming warmer, maybe a selection of the bed hay can be woven into a little modesty garment to save the expense of acquiring more sacking?!
        Referring to your Beloved as Husband No. ! still seems to be working πŸ˜‰ LOL

      6. LOL! I bet you are so pleased to begin whipping up your culinary dust delights….you haven’t thought of the consequential extra benefits!!!?…If, your Beloved experiences some degree of weight loss from his new diet….He’ll need even less space in the tall boy for his new slim line clothes πŸ˜€ Win Win every which way πŸ˜‰ !

  3. Hahaha! This has to be one of the best post titles I’ve seen all year! I hope you’re enjoying thinking up ways to put all that extra wardrobe space to good use… It’ll certainly be useful for making sure you never lose another pair of shoes again, at least!

Leave a Reply

