Gelflings Blanket

So Gelfling Grandchild asked for a blue blanket …  my that child has been brought up well…he loves blankets…I can’t think where that passion was nurtured, well maybe I did have a tiny influence, anyhoo said blanket is complete

Moo's Blue Blanket.....Please tell me everyone gives their craft projects a nick name
Moo’s (Gelfling Grandsons nick name ) Hues of Blue Blanket…..Please tell me everyone gives their craft projects a nick name

I haven’t given it to him yet, I’m going to wait till a dull, rainy day  then when we are cuddled up on the sofa in front of the stove I’m going to do the big reveal, telling him the story I use to my boys when they were small …of how I love him a bucket full

Here is the story ….. if you place a bucket outside in the rain it will slowly begin to fill, once it’s reached the brim, it will trickle over the edge, forming a puddle on the ground, this in turn will then begin to run down the street, find its way to the beck, the beck will eventually join a stream, the stream will grow into a river, the river will find its way to the sea

When you stand on the shore looking out to sea, that is all my love for you
When you stand on the shore looking out to sea, that is all my love for you, this photo was taken during a visit to Vietnam …I think I was going through an experimental phase of taking photos ;-D

So whenever I’m asked ‘How much do you love me?’  I always give the same reply….A BUCKET FULL

23 thoughts on “Gelflings Blanket

  1. Aw, what a cute way to tell a little one how much you love them. I’m going to steal this at bedtime:) So, self striping yarn means A LOT less ends to weave in I take it? Great colour blanket.

    1. Waayy less weaving in,
      I have always told my boys the bucket full story, when 1st born told his Lady Love he loved her a bucket full she was suitably under whelmed …until he regaled the origins of the tale, now I think she’s secretly thrilled 🙂

  2. I have just come back from home and Your story is the Perfect end to My trip ti Croatia… You made me think about My nephews and moved me to tears 💗💖💕

      1. I had indeed and had time for craft too 😀 A blog post will follow in a day or two 🙂 But first: house cleaning is following tomorrow morning… after a week away it is needed indeed 😛 😀 LOL

      2. I have a day off tomorrow, so I’ll be doing the same, then I’m at ‘The Workplace’ until the Easter holidays …which I get off this year WOO HOO so more renovations to follow,
        I’m looking forward to your crafting post 🙂

      3. I manage to FO the strange tube shaped sweater for my friend…. I hope that I’ll manage to take some good photos tomorrow.. I read the post about the wall down and see that the cottage renovation is in great progress…. Just WOW!!!

      4. Beloved has assured me the cottage will be finished for Christmas …mind you he said that last year LOL
        It’ll get done sooner or later 🙂

      5. Well, if I learnt to know you somehow (even if so important for me, the virtual world still has it limits….. some big ones because I still love to meet people in the real life), it is not the goal but the journey that is important in the Cottage case… am I right?

    1. Thank you so much, it’s amazing what I can achieve when I don’t have to attend ‘The Workplace’ still that’s just a distant memory now as my long stint is about to begin 🙂

  3. Goodness!!! Have you slept at all…???…Since, saying you were just starting a blanket for little Gelfling….and…ALREADY IT IS FINISHED!! Wo! – You must be some relation to Super woman for sure!??? Your blanket and the whole endearing love tale are absolutely wonderful and very touching! I can’t think of any better description of explaining ‘a bucket full of love’…You must be so excited to give little Gelfling his new blanket – let’s hope it’s a rainy day!!!!! 😀 Just beautiful!!!

    1. Hahahaha, well actually ….. no I didn’t get much sleep, a certain K9 is an early riser, he had no regard for the fact Beloved & I were on annual leave, so I just continued with the blanket until Beloved arose…which gave me a good 3 hrs crocheting time each morning LOL
      Gelfling has always known I love him a bucket full but I’ve never told him the story behind the saying, bless him he always says he loves me 7, I must ask him out of how many !!!!!

      1. Wow…. and extra three hours every day for a week almost gives you a complete other day!!! Time well spent though wouldn’t you say 😉 It really is lovely, Gelfling will love it!
        I have a feeling 7 is Gelfling’s bestest and most favourite number of all!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

