Ball Of Yarn Tale Part 2

If you are at a loss as to what this post is about see HereΒ πŸ™‚

While Beloved & I were partaking of a modicum of coffee & cake we discussed my options on the shortage of yarn to finish my project, I did try another shade of yarn and was soo disappointed with the result, and the thought of frogging and starting again on a large swath was upsetting as well… SOOOOOO

Yep I went with the 400g ball of Aran yarn even though it's the wrong weight, all for the sake of 18 stitches
Yep I went with the 400g ball of Aran yarn even though it’s the wrong weight, all for the sake of 18 stitches, the colour was a good match so I went with my heart as I want Tajana to have a first-rate gift,

While putting the finishing touches to the main piece of my project I asked Beloved if he could tell where the offending 18 stitch done in the right colour but wrong weight yarn was…and he picked a different row entirely so I’m happy with that, Β now I can put my all into finishing my gift with a lighter heart, plus I have a huge ball of Aran in a lovely shade of blue that will be just right for another project ..win win me thinks LOL

25 thoughts on “Ball Of Yarn Tale Part 2

      1. You are most welcome, when I’ve posted your gift I’ll write a blog post on what inspired me to create what I did and why I’ve used the colours I did….hopefully when you receive your parcel all will become clear x

      2. ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀
        You can't imagine how curious I am….

    1. The project has just been completed so it should be in the post winging it’s merry way to Tajana tomorrow, and I’ll let her do the big unveil LOL

  1. I bet you feel on top of the world, finding just the right shade to complete your little project!!
    It would seem the yarn fairies hadn’t forsaken you after all….they just had ulterior motives for you to top up your stash once more LOL πŸ˜€ Hope the caffeine is starting to wear off by now??!

    1. The right shade but the wrong weight was the best option, and for just a few stitches the project has been salvaged πŸ™‚ and of course my stash has gained a new companion,

    1. It’s such a shame ye old wool shops have just about disappeared in our local area, so to find something from the meagre stock available to me was amazing

      1. Yes, so many smaller areas just don’t have the shops they used to it seems. A local man just opened a weaving and spinning shop in Holton. It is a very lovely store and he carries some locally made dyed yarns and spins some himself. He is selling weaving looms and spinning wheels. I hope there is enough interest to help him stay open and make a good business out of it. It is called The Golden Fleece. And he does it all, knitting, spinning, weaving. He even knits his own socks! What a guy! πŸ™‚

  2. I knit a sweater once and ran out of its very particular color of yarn. I knit the collar in another color and was never really happy with it until one day many years later someone commented on the “designer look” of the sweater with the contrast collar.
    My typical problem of matching is running out of paint before the room is totally finished. Errgh. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    1. Later this year we should be painting every room in the cottage so I’m sure there will be many a tense moment of will we have enough paint LOL

  3. Hooray! The happy ending I was hoping for! I can’t wait to see the finished result… And look at that lovely new piece of insulation you’ve picked up too! Seems like a win-win to me – you should have some more coffee and cake to celebrate your success πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

