The Vintage Sewing Machine Part 2

Thank you to Easy’s Mom and Caren for providing links for me to follow-up on my quest, and Colin who gave me tons of encouragement to find out more on the pressie Beloved bestowed on me last night …Don’t know what I’m on about ?? See Here. Well here’s what I found

A discovery inside the wooden lockable cover, revealed a box of accessories, an envelope dated 1960 containing an illustration of how to thread the machine and a pack of needles
A discovery inside the wooden lockable cover, revealed a box of accessories, an envelope dated 1960 containing an illustration of how to thread the machine and a pack of needles, see the curtain hooks? I’m now imagining Mrs Burton sat quietly at home with her recently acquired machine embarking on making a pair of curtains for her drawing room

After trawling the interweb, I’ve come to the informed conclusion my little gem is most likely a well manufactured high arm German machine (apparently the porcelain handle to the hand crank is a give away) which has a transverse shuttle, and dates from the turn of the century

How darn cute are the transverse shuttles , I figure they must hold all of a couple of yards of thread
How darn cute are the transverse shuttles , I figure they must hold all of a couple of yards of thread, the foot on the left is possibly a roll hemming foot, the one on the right still has yielded any results as yet.. if you know what its for please let me know

I still need to follow a few more leads for example

The faint motif on my machine
The faint motif on my machine

So for now my crochet project will have to take a back seat, I’m sure normal crafting will resume after my research, oh and if you are wondering Beloved informed me he paid the sum of £11 for this treasure, to me it’s worth sooo much more, to have a piece of social history relating to craft woman (and craft man) ship residing at the cottage is beyond value 🙂

16 thoughts on “The Vintage Sewing Machine Part 2

    1. I’d sit and listen to the story of the lives of all my auction finds, or I could just romanticise a little and day dream of all their adventures

  1. How exciting to find even more hidden gems locked away inside 🙂 ….and, to be finding out all the facts you can about your wonderful new machine! It’s priceless to acquire something which was pre-loved and wonder just how much happiness it gave to previous owner(s)! Thanks for the little mention too – I think all the ‘Bargain hunt’ programs your Beloved has been engrossed in has paid off here 😀

    1. I love finding out about things we have managed to own along our adventure through life, and I think it’s quite fitting for it to be in an old cottage being loved once more

      1. It makes the items you have even more treasured knowing a little part of their history I completely agree that to make a ”new union” between antiques and your cottage is lovely and I’m sure they compliment each other perfectly 🙂

    1. Thank you Tajana, the thing that amazes me about auctions is the array of things that get sold, perhaps there are no surviving family members left, or if there are, they possibly just don’t want to take ownership of some items, at least this little gem has found a new home at the cottage 🙂

  2. Oh, Mrs P, what a wonderful find — and what a wonderful machine! I know absolutely nothing about sewing machines but I’m quite fascinated by them. My mom sewed and had several, and so I suppose my interest in them comes from her. And what fun to find some “secrets” in this one. Hope you enjoy!

      1. Mysteries to solve make for fun — I wish you the best of luck in discovering what you can about this incredible machine!

      2. Bizarrely enough I have signed up to a job search site and would you darn well believe it one of the jobs advertised is for a PI I’ll be blowed , do you think finding out about a sewing machine will cut the mustard on an interview ??? LOL

      3. Yes! I do think you should mention finding the sewing machine, 🙂 Hey, best of luck with the job search. I think I shall be doing the same thing soon. I think a PI job would be fascinating — as long as it wasn’t dangerous! 🙂 Have a great day — and again, best of luck!

  3. I can’t believe Beloved picked this up for only £11! What a truly awesome find… The handwritten threading instructions must have been a lovely surprise when you found them! Also, it might be worth checking out the value of the stamp on that letter… Surely there can’t be that many stamps from 1960 knocking around?

    1. I knew Beloved had an eye for a bargain….but seriously £11 !!!!!!!!!! the threading instructions were just the icing on the cake I’ll keep everything together so the next custodian will be as delighted as I was, one of my Daughter- in laws just might inherit it one day

Leave a Reply

