Are You Looking For Gift Ideas?

Just a little follow-up  from  my Previous Post  Are you stuck for gift ideas? Are you into ‘retro’ crafts? Then do I have the perfect answer for you, these patterns are from my latest purchase of the 1930’s ‘Complete Needlecraft’ by Agnes M Miall  … now are you sat on the edge of your seat ? good then I’ll give you a preview

Do you have a Lady with a 'Medium Figure' on your gift list who would be enthralled  with a crocheted brassier?
Do you have a Lady with a ‘Medium Figure’ on your gift list who would be enthralled with a crocheted brassiere?

I realise this craft might not be to every ladies taste so how about a knitting project

If you begin this project now come the winter moths you should have a finished project just in time for the cold weather
If you begin this project now come the winter moths you should have a finished project just in time for the cold weather

Instead of intimate apparel, I also have a delightful gift option for all you crafting ladies out there

Which one of you wouldn't be delighted to receive this delight, of course I'm not quite sure where a penny celluloid doll can be picked up
Which one of you wouldn’t be delighted to receive this , of course I’m not quite sure where a penny celluloid doll can be picked up, but I am assured this item is a good seller at craft fairs

If any one out there is interested in any of these patterns I can publish a full pattern 😀  Although this is a tongue in cheek post, it did bring home to me how times have changed, I wonder which projects we are all working on at the moment will be out of vogue in future generations

27 thoughts on “Are You Looking For Gift Ideas?

  1. The underwear…. It can be a good idea….. But made of a very washable cotton…. I have that sick idea in my mind that it could work quite good enough…..

    1. Would anyone make the effort to craft underwear any more ? somehow I don’t think so, but the crochet brassier could be translated into swimwear possibly

      1. You are so very right…. In fact,I was talking about a sick idea…. Because it is so very sick and because a crocheted bra will never hold up my breasts…. But I have imagined myself hopping around the house in a perfect knitted pants….

      2. You have a pattern for knitted pants ???
        if so please share, you & I can be the latest trend setters, our knitted underwear could be an internet sensation LOL

      3. Well,it should not be so hard to find….. have to take a look in my old magazines…. I’ll try to find anything interesting in the next days because this sick idea is becoming more persistent….

      4. Oh my !!! same here, as soon as you find a pattern, please, please post, the more I think about it the more I think 1930’s crafting ideas need to be brought back,

      5. My Big man says we do !! LOL Me… I’m studying the idea because I still like it…. and maybe yes,we need a therapy but I’m having such a fun!!!

  2. Don’t think I’ll be knitting a vest….lol. Thought you might like to know I googled “penny celluloid doll” and your blog was one of the first images that came up! 🙂

  3. Fantastic post, I chuckled all the way through! Knitted socks seem to have spanned the generations though, even if we now knit them for fun and not necessity:)

    1. So you won’t be knitting a vest any time soon then?? I wonder how many folks will chuckle at our crafting patterns in the future
      I am so tempted to have a go at crochet brassier, all I can say is goodness help who ever gets me as a secret Santa at ‘The Workplace’

Leave a Reply

