A Moomin For Moo

For anyone who isn’t aware Gelfling Grandson also goes by the nickname of Moo, to this day I’m not totally sure how that came about but hey ho it stuck, anyhoo next month see’s the little guy hit the big 6 (I know when did that happen) I wanted to captivate his imagination and engage him in a love of books and reading Β so what better way than …

A crochet Moonin
The beginnings of a crochet Moonin, it took me a couple of goes to get the body right then it was fairly plain sailing, the pattern is available from the magazine Inside Crochet issue 66

 

Of course my hand crafted Moomin will need a magical book to keep him company so this little gem has been ordered

 

I remember being sat on the carpet in primary school while the teacher read Tove Jansons masterpieces
I remember being sat on the carpet in primary school while the teacher read Tove Jansson’s masterpieces, I wonder if I will have made an impression on Gelfling future memories …I do hope so

Here is theΒ LinkΒ to the magazine πŸ™‚

29 thoughts on “A Moomin For Moo

      1. LOL I like the sound of your household (my brother & I didn’t come to blows often, my mother taught me well on verbal retorts) I know I put my embroidery thread somewhere if only I can remember where, living in a renovation project means I store things in the most unusual places πŸ™‚

    1. I really hope he leaves the book & Moomin at the cottage in the room he has here simply because I want to store memories of happy stays, and a childhood filled with carefree moments,

    1. Such kind words, the Moomin is all stitched together I just have the face to do, I’m not sure if to embroider or just sew buttons on for eyes like I do with my rabbits

      1. I think you’ll have several trys until you make the face you like… I find the face embroidery so difficult since I have never done any embroidery up till now.. Every single time I have to do that I sweat quite a lot..

      2. LOL I know exactly what you mean, I’m still undecided so for now the Moomin sits waiting for me make a decision πŸ™‚

      1. OOOOO!! πŸ˜€ The Clangers was my all time fav, when I was little, my Dad was ace at whistling along with them as we watched and waited for the Soup Dragon;-) ! Not only have some of my Doorstop Dumpies been modelled around them, I was lucky enough to be given a vintage Clangers jigsaw by Jen and her betrothed two Christmases ago.
        I’ll look forward to a crocheted Clanger or two in the future πŸ˜€

      2. I use to adore Tales of the riverbank & Pogles wood, and who can forget Camberwick Green with the 4 o’clock tea dance …sheer bliss, do you have a link to your Clanger inspired Doorstop Dumpies ??

      3. All the great classics from our youth – not forgetting Trumpton too!!! I bet Gelfling Grandson and yourself could spend many happy hours on youtube watching old footage πŸ˜‰
        Unfortunately I haven’t got any links to the ones which look like clangers, the best I can show is the banner picture on WP, it has a little black and white one in the centre.
        LOL …..have you got a whole family of Moomins yet??

      4. The Moomins must be akin to pandas on the breeding front, no new arrivals yet, I have started a new project, as soon as my computermebob has been rectified I’ll try and post, my relationship with a temperamental gadget is a little psychotic to say the least, one wrong touch of the keyboard and the darn thing goes off on a tangent, I’ll have to resort to the quill/parchment method of conversing, although I do here tell of a new method of 2 cups and a piece of string to convey the spoken word, which I’m sure can’t be true as I’m fairly confident I can bellow louder than the string can stretch, I’m off to purvey your banner for said Doorstop Dumpy, I’m off to sharpen my quill as I need to invite 2nd born over to tame the computermebob, better still I’ll just bake a cake – he’ll be here by the time it’s ready to come out the oven, apparently smell can travel quicker than the speed of light when it comes to my boy’s tummy

      5. LOL πŸ˜€ I’m sure 2nd born will work all the better for having a home made cake, nothing better than spoiling our little ones every now and again….especially if it sorts out a problem too πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

