Big Bad Wolf ?

For any one who ever watched Sesame Street ( me… I always wanted to live there) will possibly remember the family of wolves that lived on set,

Mom, Dad  a set of siblings, an aunt & uncle made up the family
Mom, dad a set of 3 siblings, an aunt & uncle made up the family, I thought they were soooo cool

As I grew older and books became a passion I fell for the writing of Virginia Woolf, perhaps I became confused, but the word ‘wolf’ became synonymous with adventure and day dreams, so for me the precautionary fables of the Big Bad Wolf was a malicious rumour, just to prove wolves can be adorable

Look at this little face, how is this other than adorable
Look at this little face, how is this other than cute ??

Yep I’m afraid I’ve caught the amigurumi bug, crochet has taken an on a whole new level now I’ve started to actually understand patterns, and even better my work actually looks like the picture in the magazines, so here is my wolf in a casual pose

The pattern is by Lynne Rowe and worked in spirals
The pattern is by Lynne Rowe and worked in spirals, believe it or not I found the bandanna harder than the wolf ๐Ÿ™‚

Now what can I make next ??

44 thoughts on “Big Bad Wolf ?

  1. OMGoodness isn’t he the cutest wolf ever!!!! and I love his little bandanna it gives him a gypsy wanderer look ๐Ÿ™‚ Now you’ve cracked the ”code” of all which is crochet…there will be no stopping you ๐Ÿ˜‰ can’t wait to see what comes next ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. I first sat with a neighbour at the age of 8 and watched her crochet, I thought she was some sort of alchemist the way she turned yarn into lovely crafts, now 40 odd (plus a bit) years later I can make stuff !!! in crochet !!! no less !!!! ……… yes I get excited that it is making sense at last LOL

      1. I remember my grandma in the same way, she did manage to teach me knitting without a problem, but I never moved past the finger crochet stage! I am sooo in complete awe of your new found skill and your cute little wolf ๐Ÿ™‚
        I have visions of you bouncing from one settee cushion to the next in your excitement ๐Ÿ˜€ Poor K9 must be in shock from all your squeeling and bouncing around LOL

      2. k9 is like a coiled spring I’ve had to remove the wolf from the room as he is gazing it it longingly, he must think I’ve made it especially for him
        Meanwhile Neurotic Cat is rolling her eyes at me as if to say FINALLY she gets the crochet thing – how long has it taken you ?????//

      3. Why is it that if you make a soft toy with two eyes a dog thinks it is going to get ownership by default?? Before the eyes are put on there is no apparent interest at all!
        LOL I’m not really a cat person, but I should imagine Neurotic Cat is strutting around conveying the message ”I would have mastered that weeks ago!”

      4. K9 has been taking quite a interest in yarn all of a sudden, I’m not sure why,
        I might test your eye theory by making a one eyed thingy to see what his response is LOL

      5. LOL not content with his two step/four paw routine (how’s the dance class going btw??) he has aspirations of outdoing you in the crafting front! I assume, in this day and age, K9 still has his dew claws too?? Oh, what an asset he’ll be when you want to wind yarn into balls ๐Ÿ˜€
        Love to know about the one eyed experiment too ๐Ÿ™‚

      6. Dance class was going very well..until he tried to mate the instructor…it all went a bit down hill after that LOL, once the testosterone is out of his systems it will be stations go
        His wool winding thumbs (dew claws) are still in place so he’ll be as quick as a swift when it comes to balling my yarn up

      7. Oh No!! I bet the pheromones from the bees/wasps in his head cocktailed with his own testosterone gave the instructor a proper shock! Though she is probably used to these things happening on a small scale, I bet it’s not so easy to shake off a Rottweiler when the mood takes him LOL

      8. Poor K9, it’s no wonder jolly well encouraging him like that in his adolescence !!! Hope he is settling down into his testosterone free way of life now?? ๐Ÿ™‚

      9. Things are not going very well at all for k9 the past couple of weeks his mouthing is considerably more intense, and he gets into a melt down on most walks, we are about to start muzzle training, if that fails it will be off to a behaviourist, if that fails it will only leave one course of action, so I’m dreadfully upset, anxious and downright distraught ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      10. Oh Roma, I’m so sad to read that things are that bad! I think it’s a good idea to get a ”dog whisperer” ASAP together with the muzzle rather than after! Early intervention could make all the difference down the line, plus he will be sensing your anxiousness as well each time you go out, which in itself is probably causing a vicious circle of events ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
        With the right person to help with steps one and two, you won’t even need to think any further ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Do let me know how things go xx

      11. Muzzle training has begun and I’ve gone back to basics on clicker training this afternoon and he’s been a darling …I even got to do a little gardening !!! something has seriously stressed him out big time, I just need to figure out what, when and what the triggers are then we can reach his inner good boy LOL he’s brilliant 85% of the time then he goes into melt down just for a few minuets then he’s back to his good natured self.
        We visited Dog Training Lady last night and she tried to push his buttons … to no avail, so although she doesn’t have the answers she believes once the mouthing is out of the equation (hence the muzzle) the situation should be more contained .. gawd life sure is complicated

      12. That’s really good to hear!! Returning to basics and the treat/performance is a good way to go and should in time undo his new behaviour. I wondered if his little op has some bearing on his new attitude due to the timing of his change of behaviour, I know it’s meant to quiet and calm them, but, not all dogs fit the mould after such procedures I’m sure, (coupled with the lampshade-they must find that horrendous) it’s not like they can tell us, but, also maybe he found the separation/pain traumatic in some way and his mouthing has become his defence when unsure/worried?? Peppy still has all his bits, as I wouldn’t let the vet have them LOL ๐Ÿ˜‰ coming up to 10 too in a few days time!
        My dad always taught me to ”OWN” a dog’s mouth and have full control from the very off of owning one. From the day we brought Peppy home at eight weeks, I insisted we all.. Dearest, me, the children AND even visitors were encouraged to actively place their hands into his mouth – sounds strange right, I know, but even with the milk teeth, which are very sharp- he got to know when he was clamping down too hard – a verbal reprimand never a physical one! Within a couple of weeks, and lots invasive hands, he became soft mouthed-he still brings toilet roll tubes to the bin unsquashed for a treat. Also, he was never allowed to own/keep/enjoy a new toy/bone/meal without being disturbed and having it taken from him – one growl or resentment – he was out the door ;-/
        I know you had Old Dog previous and sometimes we think all will be the same with a new pet, and please, I hope you don’t think I’m telling you what to do, I was just hoping a couple of pointers in the back to basics might help if you haven’t already tried and tested them? It’s never too late, even though he is so sizeable now to let him know you are The Boss and how it’s going to be…from now on! A deep breath, determination and full command in all situations, especially when in and around your home should soon transfer to the outdoors too ๐Ÿ™‚ Your progress today is so encouraging already – keep up the good work!
        Oooo gardening!! does that mean a Pimms with a good book?? LOL ;-D

      13. Alas no Pimms..I thought as we had such a good training session I’d really push the boat out and treat myself to a Tia Maria & coke ..I know such extravagance and just before you think I’ve gone all up market, wait till you hear what I’m reading …The Famous 5 by Enid Blyton, I bought it for Moo but thought I’d check it out first you understand LOL
        We have had another really good training session this morning, I’ve returned to putting my hand in his mouth and getting him to nibble the treats from my fingers, the second he does anything I’m not happy with I stop, turn my back on him and refuse to interact, this behaviour all started a week of his op, and I think I’ve had a mini breakthrough the lead seems to be a trigger I’m wondering if it rattled on his lampshade and of course the sound would have been amplified !!! off lead I can get him to do anything, on lead is when he acts like a plum, so lots of work on the lead and who knows his inner ‘good boy’ may well win the day yet ๐Ÿ™‚

      14. LOL Famous five and tia maria…I would say that’s a rare and interesting combination!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
        It’s great you have found a trigger so quickly, having a chain rattle around his head at hundred decibels sounds like has made him skittish. As he’s so obedient off the lead, maybe, in your garden as he doesn’t need to wear it, you could throw the chain/lead for him to fetch for a treat, throwing it onto a flagged area would be even better, as the more he recognises the rattle and will retrieve, the quicker he should desensitise ๐Ÿ™‚
        Weimaraners are prone to being noise sensitive too, not only did he endure endless hands at only a few weeks old, there were frequent bouts of me emptying/dropping metal pans, lids, trays all at once out of the cupboard onto the tiled floor, on purpose, without warning to him, till eventually he got so used to it happening he didn’t even bat an eye LOL used to make everyone else in the house annoyed though;-/ Something we have never been able to crack though is his separation anxiety ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
        I reckon K9’s inner ‘good boy’ will be back in no time with lots of reinforcement – bet he goes from plum to perfectly peachy in no time!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww thank you, it’s really taken me a while to get round the whole crochet thing, but I finally think it’s making sense LOL

      1. You are so very kind, your comments are just lovely, thank you for all your support, after all it was seeing your stunning work that pushed me to give crochet another go, I know I still have a long way to go on the crochet journey, but at least I’m feeling like I’m moving forward โค โค โค

    1. Thank you so much, if you click on the Etsy badge in my blogs side bar it will take you to my store where I have some of my crafts on sale, I’m trying to design a crochet rabbit pattern to add to my portfolio ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. They are so cute!!! Wish I was that good so I could sell my things, it would help with getting fees for college anyway. But I’m not that good, like sell-able good. I must go back to my scarf soon. I’m making an infinity scarf for myself.

      2. Don’t be so quick to be hard on yourself, your boxes were so lovely, have you considered selling those ?? have a look through Esty or similar sights and see if they are as good as yours and get selling ๐Ÿ™‚

      3. I know!!! I am always so hard on myself. I have always been like that. Some people would actually pay for cute little boxes like that as they wouldn’t have the creativity to do something like that but I am always comparing myself with others when I know I shouldn’t. I am trying but it goes out the window.

      4. I know exactly what you mean, but look what you have achieved this year alone, perhaps next year the motto for both of us should be “Lets be braver”

      5. I like that motto!! I should go by that. I don’t take the things for granted of what I have achieved but I am always nit picking and telling myself I could have done it better. I am my worst critic but we all are in some way.

  2. So cute! I do have a soft spot for amigurumi, and your little wolf is so sweet! Perhaps he needs a pig to keep him company? ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and I am also a HUGE Sesame Street fan, but I don’t remember the wolf family! I suppose I’ll have to spend the morning watching old episodes on YouTube! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. I went to China knowing only how to say hello and Dร  niวŽo (which means Big Bird) both learnt form Sesame Street ….I never used the words Dร  niวŽo …gutted

      1. Dangit! You’re going to have to go back! “Sesame Street” really is such a good way to sneak learning into young minds… More than 20 years on, I still find myself singing some of the songs!

  3. He’s the cutest thing, I have to agree, and amazing for your first foray into Amigurumi! I’m working my way through an entire book of dolls and accessories for Christmas presents, also my first attempt at this type of crochet. I must be mad……

      1. It’s “Annie’s Crochet Your Own Dolls & Accessories” by Sally Byrne from Minerva Crafts. Four different dolls, clothes and bits ‘n’ bobs. I’ve set myself the task of making everything in the entire book by October!! I’m halfway through now, so it’s looking achievable, even with all the other projects I’ve got on the go:)

      2. I was undecided between that one and My Crochet Doll by Isabelle Kessedjian, did you compare the two or not?? well done on getting as far as you have on your chosen mission LOL

      3. Yes, but the other one is translated from French – and not at all well, judging by the reviews. The instructions for creating hair are not included full stop and the hair I have done on two dolls already from my book is quite incredible! I can’t fault the book I chose so I’m glad I went with it:)

      4. Thanks for your opinion, I hadn’t spotted the reviews that the ‘other book’ was a French translation, I bet that was well down the list of comments and I completely missed it, I know which book I’ll be buying now LOL

Leave a Reply

