It Was All Going So Well

While trawling the internet I came upon this Rabbit Pattern which although is in Spanish I got google to translate, I thought I’d give it a go, and this is what I crocheted

Now although she make look fine in this photo I made some silly mistakes which spoil the whole project
Now although she may look fine in this photo I made some silly mistakes which spoil the whole project

Firstly her eyes are not positioned very well

Only after I had secured the safety eyes I realised I should have placed them between the decreases
Only after I had secured the safety eyes I realised I should have placed them between the decreases D’oh

If that wasn’t bad enough I wasn’t really sure how to do the bottom of her fake sweater

I know it's a case of working the front/ rear loops, but I'm not sure if it edge of the colour change should stand proud like this, if anyone can tell me if indeed I have done it wrong/right please let me know
I know it’s a case of working the front/ rear loops, but I’m not sure if it edge of the colour change should stand proud like this, if anyone can tell me if indeed I have done it wrong/right please let me know

And now for a humdinger of a boo boo, her tail

When I was sewing my rabbits head on I inadvertently must have moved her body and now her tail is way off centre, and can't be altered as it hides the colour change between her body and sweater
The tail was sewn on first to hide the colour change between the sweater and body, then when I was sewing my rabbit’s head/legs on, which I did super securely  !!!! I inadvertently must have moved her body and now her tail is way off centre,  I’m so cross at myself for such a mistake 😦

Of course I have learnt from my mistakes but I can’t help but feel supremely slightly disappointed, she was destined for a Christmas gift but I can’t see anyone wanting her with all the faults I managed to factor in, but she will look oh so cute as a decoration on the fireplace in the master bedroom … hence I’ve only marked myself 6/10 for effort unless my intention all along was to create a  cute mutant bunny in which case I score 10/10

46 thoughts on “It Was All Going So Well

  1. Oh Mrs. P She’s soooooo cute!! I love ALL her quirky features It gives her such character and I think her ‘sassy’ hip swing, off centre tail is a perfect look 😀 !!!! Sorry I’m not able to help with the pattern queries, but……I’d say she’s perfect, just as she is and will look lovely in your bedroom;-)

    1. Oh thank you for your kind words Mrs T, when I first saw her arthritic hip swing throwing her tail off centre I was hugely disappointed , but after a comment from colinandray I have new plans for her 🙂 see his comment and let me know what you think x

      1. Awww, How lovely and so cute :-)!!
        I think your newest creation would make a lovely group member. That little gesture by the Lincolnshire fairy must have created cherished memories for many over all those years and your little bunny could be part of making more in the future. Equally a lovely thought too, to donate to an overseas orphanage 😀 For all your bunny’s quirkiness ..she will definitely make someone happy for sure!

      2. I’m sure arthritic rabbit with a squint, and a tush to rival beyonce are all the rage somewhere, perhaps this latest make is the future LOL

      3. LOL…I bet as I type this, there are comparisons going on with the size, position and posture of the copier’s bunny butts – they just don’t have your flair of creativity 😉
        BTW have you made any firm decisions of your bunny’s future, will she become part of the bus stop brigade for sure? Wouldn’t it be wonderful if ALL society could welcome such fun and innocence for all to enjoy?!!!

      4. I’m still undecided if she is off to join the bus stop brigade or to post her off to the Salvation Army to be given to a child this Christmas, or send her overseas to spread her charm, Moo is staying with me next week so together we will decide and put our plan into action

      5. I know Moo will help you find the answer as to newest bunny’s perfect new home! I bet you are looking forward to having Gelfling over for a few days – HAVE FUN!!!! 😀

      6. We have an itinerary a mile long, the night he goes away with his Uncle (First Born) will give me time to draw breath before he comes back for one more night, I only hope the weather is kind to us as he loves being outdoors..still he has wellies and a coat so who cares LOL

      7. I did reply to this, but it looks like I haven’t?? WP must be going through some more turmoil, what with my comments to you going into spam as well!
        to cut it short, in case you did get it….come rain or shine, I’m sure you’ll have a great time – and, a rest-bite might be needed if the list is so long!!! 😉

      8. I hope my computermabob isn’t censoring my on-line activity !! it looks like rain might win out – never mind the Grandma / Gelfling bake off challenge will certainly be going ahead, lets hope he doesn’t want a dance off …I don’t think my hips will be able to take it LOL

  2. Somebody would love that Bun! The irregularities make her all the more unique and, just as none of us are perfect ……….. nor are Buns. If you cannot find a loving home for her, please donate her somewhere. Doing nothing with her simply because of her imperfections is just plain wrong!

  3. Are you kidding me? Part of the charm in a handmade gift are its unique aspects, ‘faults’ and all. Do you REALLY think the intended recipient will reject such a thoughtful present which, even though you pointed them out, I still can’t see apart from the charmingly off centre tail. Still a gorgeous thing and I’d still put it under the Christmas tree:)

    1. In all seriousness I don’t think the recipient would love her any less, I’m just a little disappointed that I didn’t take more care, but I now have a new plan for my rabbit doll- she is going to travel to find a new home with some child who has too little to begin with 🙂 I can always make another doll for under the tree

  4. I think she’s sweet! Like a lot of other people, I love her off-centre trail… It looks like she’s sashaying off somewhere! I’m sure she’ll make someone very happy 😀 As for you, it sounds like you’re suffering from a bad case of Crafter’s Eye… The ability to see all your mistakes in glorious technicolour, while completely ignoring everything you did right! Science really needs to start looking into a cure for this heinous malady… In the meantime, a bit of juniper cordial should provide relief from the symptoms 😁

    1. LOL you are quite right about ‘The Crafter’s Eye’ although by the very term ‘hand crafted’ we ought to expect the artists character to shine through, when I see other folks creations with’original’ design interpretations it doesn’t bother me in the slightest, so why I’m so hard on my works foibles is nonsense 🙂

      1. I know! I do the same thing myself… I spent pretty much an entire day stitching a Beastie wedding dress on Saturday, and all I can see is the dart I didn’t press properly! Then again, our relentless nitpicking helps drive us on to make even better work. Believe me, your next bunny will be pattern-perfect 😀

      2. I’ve never seen your Beaties looking anything less than immaculate, of course all the mistakes I made won’t be repeated, so a lesson learned 🙂

  5. She’s gorgeous – and tiny faults just prove that she was indeed a handmade labour of love! My friends wouldn’t believe me that I’d made this one bag, so I showed them the dodgy stitching to prove I did – so my mistakes actually worked in my favour haha!

Leave a Reply

