I Just Thought I Ought To Let You Know

Just to set the record straight I give my deepest apologies for being MIA (‘The Workplace’ related stuff) now I’m not sure how to say this so I’m just going to throw it out there …I have an alter ego – Β she looks like me, sounds like me, heck some folks think it is me Β – but there is a subtle difference, oh and if you decide to stop reading about now I understand

She is always bright , sunny, has a powder puff full of sparkly glitter....has no concept of time, doesn't even know I exist and comes up with copious 'good ideas'
She is always bright , sunny, has a powder puff full of sparkly glitter….has no concept of time, DOESN’T KNOW I EVEN EXIST and comes up with copious ‘good ideas’

I call her Dolly Daydream…let me give you an example of her impact on my daily life, it’s was her idea to have everyone round to ours for a large pre-Christmas lunch – even though I’m on a long stretch at ‘The Workplace’ on early shift that day so will have been up since 5 am, she said let’s have a super excited Gelfling Grandson to stay the week before Christmas, then to top it all WHILE I WAS STOOD RIGHT THERE she said instead of buying a gift for a residents Secret Santa she would make something !!!!!!!!!!

WHAT !!.. shut up Dolly Daydream, I can hear you, that’s right you just smile and flounce off – I’m never sure whether to hug her for her kind thoughts or go straight for her wand and snap it in two

Yes I know it's super simple ,and yes I did have to buy a couple of different coloured balls of yarn to complete the blanket...but I've wanted to do a stripy blanket for ages
So that is how I came to be crocheting a lap blanket, I have this week to complete it, Dolly also thought it would be a good idea to commence the ‘Great Pre Christmas Cottage Clean’ so I guess that will be my weeks annual leave sorted then

On the plus side who would have thought stripes could be such fun and for Dolly’s sake so soothing, Dolly also said I need to catch up with everyone’s blog posts πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “I Just Thought I Ought To Let You Know

  1. ….ang,at the end, it happens to all of us to have more to do than we imagined at the beginning of our crafty plannings…. I can easily understand you and am sure that everything will be just fine!! You are going to be exhausted but happy πŸ™‚

  2. OMG, her twin sister lives at my house! It’s the school fair on Saturday and she’s just offered to make another tent for the draw, fudge, chilli jam and medlar cheese for the PTA stall and cakes for The Boys to take in. On top of that, it’s the Village Christmas supper on Saturday night and she’s cooking veg and homemade bread sauce for 70, puddings for twenty and preparing all this the day before. Oh, and she’s holding Christmas Craft Workshops for Kids all day on Sunday and hasn’t bought anything for that yet. She’s going to have to learn how to keep her mouth shut or give me a seriously big hand with the #stitchingsanta gifts I still have to make:)

    1. Goodness and I thought Dolly was a mare LOL, it seems Dolly and her twin simply chatter away without a care in the world for us … who then have to pull out all the stops to make sure her cool ideas come to life
      Good luck with everything your alter ego has put your name forward for !!

  3. Love the name of your alter ego! Everyone has an alter ego and don’t even know it. I say I have one when I am extremely nervous bafore a practical exam or presentation and the minute the lecture says go! I turn into a different person. Hmmm…. not sure what I will call her. Good luck with work! Can’t wait to see you and Dolly’s creations! πŸ™‚

    1. Dolly Daydream has always been with me, gosh it’s annoying though when I hear her agreeing to promises then hands me a request list LOL
      You need to name your alter ego – yours sounds like an female Viking warrior type πŸ™‚

  4. Haha. It sounds like Dolly is keeping you on your toes and having fun. πŸ˜‰ I love the beginnings of your striped blanket!

    1. Please, please tell me I’m not the only person to have an alter ego who goes about making rash promises that then rely on someone else to fulfil them LOL

  5. Hahaha! I think I had a Dolly at home myself earlier this year… She made vast promises about the amount of work I was capable of doing way back in August, and I’m only just seeing the light at the end of the tunnel now! So I got her an early Christmas present – a winter sun break for the entire month of December. Now I can get on with my Christmas market prep in peace! It might not be too late for you to send yours away for a couple of weeks πŸ˜‰

    1. Ooooh I like the idea of sending Dolly away for a break πŸ™‚
      I’ve always known of Dolly’s existence – yet she has no idea I’m an actual person with my own life LOL mind you it’s reassuring to know I’m not the only person with a ‘Dolly’

      1. From reading the comments on your post, it sounds like all girls get one at birth! I’m trying to teach myself the delicate art of occasionally saying no to things. With sporadic success πŸ˜€

  6. Dolly Daydream is better than my Holly Hopeful who behaves much the same way but ends up feeling like Stuart Stupid when jollyness and sweetness get swept under the rug. I am learning to say “no” to things that don’t bring joy. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    1. Believe me I really REALLY intend to say no, I’ve even practised saying it in the mirror …but before I can get the word out Dolly Daydream screams yes, yes YES …boy I could fall out with her sometimes LOL

Leave a Reply

