Do You Have A Handkerchief ?

Everyone I have come into contact with over the last couple of weeks has had a cold, after denying all offers to succumb, last week I thought what the heck bring it on, I’ll have your germs ….BAD IDEA ..yes I know it was free, but it’s not all it’s cracked up to be- Beloved & I spend our evenings trying to outdo each other as we attempt to cough up a lung, even so I’m looking on the positive side

awesome not ill
Of course when your awake at some unearthly hour of the morning you get to thinking, and what you may wonder crosses my mind during these times ?? for me it’s been fabric

rabbit fabric
Have you seen this beauty ?? I’m going to have to buy some even though I have no imminent need for it ..but it’s best to be prepared right ??

Now back to the title of my post, while browsing through one of my old books I came across Prayer / Church Dolls, the same day I saw one on-line, I took this as a sign soΒ Beloved & I had an amble around our local antiques shop where I brought home half a dozen vintage handkerchiefs, and here is my first attempt at making a Hush doll

Church Doll
Isn’t she simply adorable, she will be right at home at the cottage .. Β plus I get to re purpose Β BONUS

28 thoughts on “Do You Have A Handkerchief ?

  1. I am so sorry you and Beloved are sick. Hope you are feeling better soon. I like the rabbit material. Can’t imagine why you like it so. πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see what you make with it. The hanky doll is so cute. Glad you can get double use out of it. Take care. πŸ™‚

    1. Beloved started with a cold, gave it to me, now he’s coming back down with it again …at least we are sharing LOL
      Hope you are feeling on an even keel and life settles into a routine for you real soon xx

  2. OH NO!! How valiant of your to succumb and even share your cold, I hope after spending many hours of lung ‘ping pong’ you and your Beloved soon feel better!!!
    Your Prayer Doll is simply beautiful πŸ™‚ I don’t think you can ever have too many of those dotted about the cottage πŸ˜‰
    As for the bunny fabric…..well you must ‘Go for It’ !!…a bit of fabric stroking will do wonders for recovery LOL

    1. Who would have thought the battle of the cough could pass many an hour !!
      I think I’ve found a pattern for the rabbit fabric so I’ll have to jump right in and buy some LOL

      1. LOL…as we get older have you noticed too how time passes with new found entertainments ??!
        OOOOO how very exciting!!!…do buy an extra quarter though, just so as you can keep it back for stoking therapy πŸ˜‰

      2. I actually think I need to get out more !!! roll on the light nights when I can wonder up the fens with Beloved & K9 and broaden my mind LOL

      3. These dark depressing days and nights are taking their toll without a doubt! I feel like a caged Polar Bear pacing the homestead I think cabin fever has definitely set in here too… ;-/ Roll on a trip to a fabric shop at the very least LOL πŸ˜‰

  3. Roma, I’m sorry you and your beloved are sick. I hope you feel better soon! πŸ™‚ I love that rabbit fabric!! Your handkerchief doll is so sweet!! What a wonderful way to repurpose those handkerchiefs!! πŸ™‚

  4. I hope you can chase away all that germs and you feel better soon… it’s like russian roulette to be surrounded by sick people and to walk away without getting some of their cold-gremlins :o)

  5. Oh dear, I feel for you. There’s a nasty bug going around the school which is putting kids out of action for up to two weeks! The Boys have had a milder version but I’ve escaped so far. I’ve never heard of a prayer/church doll but, whatever it is, it looks like a good excuse to buy vintage hankies:)

    1. I’ve downloaded this historical info for anyone not sure what Handkerchief dolls are
      During the Civil War (and at other times when supplies were scarce), dolls were made from handkerchiefs for little girls. These “handkerchief dolls” were carried to church and did not make noise if they were dropped. They were also known as one of the “Sunday toys” that children were allowed to play with only on Sundays, Some mothers would put sugar cubes or candy in the head of the handkerchief doll for a youngster to suck on to keep the child quiet during the long church service. Other names for the handkerchief doll are: “church doll,” “church babies,” “pew doll,” “pew babies,” and “prayer doll.”

      1. I remember dolls being made out of pegs and wooden spoons, perhaps I ought to have a go at reviving that tradition .. I wonder if they would sell at craft fairs ??

  6. Urrrrgh, winter colds! Glad to hear you and Beloved are on the mend now, anyway… I’m sure having a new hanky-based craft project helped speed up your recovery! Your little doll reminded me of the handkerchief mice my grandpa used to make… One hanky, a couple of choice folds and knots, et voilΓ ! A rather convincing little rodent. I just wish I could remember how he did it!

    1. Aren’t Grandpa’s fantastic ..mine taught me how to made daisy chains, whenever I see daisies in the lawn it takes me right back my childhood πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you sooo much, I’m going to take one of the Church Dolls into ‘The Workplace’ to see if any of the Ladies remember having anything similar when they were young, I do they did and it triggers memories for them I’d love to hear any stories they have to tell xx

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment, Beloved & I are well on the mend now … we still have a coughing competition every now and then – this is the one time I let him win LOL

Leave a Reply

