Not Quite Right

It’s a well-known fact in our home that although I can cook … I’ve never quite mastered a Yorkshire pudding, no doubt you now are envisioning a light, golden and crisp masterpiece…..well mine are not quite like that

Mine look like this , but have the added benefit of having a slightly 'soggy' bottom
Mine look like this , but have the added benefit of having a slightly ‘soggy’ bottom , I’ve tried many a recipe, Β and all the top tips have failed to deliver

My puds are quite edible after all my boys didn’t grow to 6 foot 4, and 6 foot 2 by chance you know!! it’s just that my puds are … how shall I put it … they are ‘an acquired taste’ Β When Beloved & I took First Born on his first B&B holiday one of the evening meals included Yorkshire’s, upon tasting the good ladies puds, First Born screwed his face up and proclaimed ” These are not like yours Mum” I replied “What can I say son, not everyone can cook a Yorkshire properly” the rest of the diners then began to examine their puds in detail.

Many years later when First Born brought his Lady Love to dinner for the first time I cooked my Yorkshire’s simply to see her reaction, bless her she ate them, Beloved & I sat there sniggering while First Born told his Lady Love that she would never be able to cook a pud like mine, she tentatively replied that “No she didn’t think she could”.

A couple of years ago we had a family dinner where …

can-stock-photo_csp17503229
You guessed it ~ I served my by now legendary Yorkshire pud

Gelfling Grandson took one bite, we all stopped eating and turned to look at him, he gifted us with a huge smile “Yummy in my tummy” was his critique, a cheer went up ..my legendary puds have found favour with another generation….my job here is done.

 

35 thoughts on “Not Quite Right

  1. Yours sound just like mine, but that’s how we like them! I don’t want a ‘Yorkshire crisp’, after all!

  2. Simply wonderful examples!! And, what better praise than that from young master Gelfling πŸ˜‰ Mine too seem to claw their way from the tin contorting wonderfully and look nothing like you see on those pre made packaged ones. I wonder if it is our northern roots which gives us this baking advantage?? LOL

    1. LOL My northern roots have a lot to answer for !!! please excuse the impertinence Mrs T, pray do tell, do yours have a soggy bottom (and by that I mean your Yorkshire’s)

      1. They absolutely do!! Even if I try and cook them until they resemble cinders…they still have a soggy bottom??! My Dearest, at best, only eats the crispy bits, poor dear after 30+ years he can’t face the soggy bottom!! Though everyone else is used to him and knows he will pass them up to the first taker,…this usually ends up with lots of salivating guests holding their plate in his direction as everyone else loves them πŸ˜‰

      2. YEAH soggy bottoms are in !!!!!! I never thought I would hear myself say that LOL
        It seems we are amongst the most adept cooks out there πŸ™‚ Gordon Ramsey eat your heart out,
        There was me thinking I was making a cooking faux pas …when all along I’m a goddess in the kitchen

      3. LOL Most definitely πŸ˜‰
        Mrs. P…there is never a faux pas in the kitchen…it is always, an experimental advancement!!…others just have to keep up with us πŸ˜‰

      4. LOL …I do fear Beloved has eaten more than his fair share of experiments ~ ‘The Green Ghicken’ &
        ‘The White Meal’ are just 2 of them ..stories for another time LOL

    1. June- vember here too I had to light the stove last night, & again tonight, stew & dumplings for tea ~ typical summer !!! in fact my infamous Yorkshires would go nicely with stew LOL

  3. A lovely story! I have never tried to cook a Yorkshire pudding of course. Even if I followed a recipe to the T, it still would not come out right. Apparently yours are wonderful. Gelfling son would not lie! They look very good to me. I can cook, but by no means am a great cook. Tom eats it and if he has seconds, or even thirds, then I know I have done an okay job. πŸ˜€

    1. If Tom has seconds or even thirds that is praise indeed, they say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach ..Tom must worship the ground you walk on πŸ™‚

      1. Blush! Well sometimes he does! πŸ˜€ He is a good man. I think you and I have two of the best. I think Moo worships the ground you and Beloved walks on. Take care Roma. I hope to have some pictures of this year’s calves. They are starting to arrive. Three on the ground, and three to go. πŸ™‚

      2. I so agree with you, we certainly are blessed with good men in our lives, Moo can’t wait to see this years calves πŸ™‚

      3. I need to get all the pictures on. The last one born a few days ago was being shy. We have four now and two more to come. I will try and get all their pictures before making a post. Tell Moo it will be soon. I hope! πŸ˜€ They are due any time.

      4. Moo will be over at the weekend, I’ll give him the good news that this years calves will appear in a post soon, he loved it last year when you shared your new born’s πŸ™‚

      5. Hi Roma, tell Moo I am working on uploading the videos to Youtube. Taking awhile. I will try and get the post on Saturday or Sunday. Have a great day! πŸ™‚

    1. Sounds like you have a winning recipe if you have no left overs, I always try to leave 1 to go cold to eat with jam on ..then go through to the kitchen to find someone’s eaten it LOL

Leave a Reply

