Can You Give Me A Name ?

I’ve been yearning to try a little something different on the crafting front … I’ve not worked with felt for …well for years !! I spent many a happy hour sourcing just the right fabrics

lush-felt-and-cotton-fabric
Ooooh look ~ lush premium felt and such pretty cotton prints

I’m soooo excited by this new project, it a 90% hand sewn ‘Secret Santa Christmas Present’ ~ don’t worry the recipient doesn’t read my blog so I’ll be able to show you sneak little previews as I go along

felt-rabbit-legs
It’s coming along ~ any wild guesses as to what on earth I’m making
felt-rabbit-head
The legs were no help ?? what about now ??

Why haven’t I used felt for so long ? it’s lovely to work with. Anyhoo fast forward 30 hours of hand stitching and trying to master dressmaking skills in miniature and this is who is awaiting a name ~ any suggestions anyone ??

the-rabbit-with-no-name
Her inner ears, dress … with detachable bow brooch and paw pads all match ๐Ÿ™‚

Yes I know it’s a rubbish photo but it’s done nothing but rain for the last couple of days and I kinda wanted to show her off a little

74 thoughts on “Can You Give Me A Name ?

  1. Benjamina / Felicity The floral Frocked Felted Bunny lol?? OH I love her, she’s adorable!!!! She is a very classy looking bunny and all lovingly handmade, your secret Santa recipient is going to be over the moon with happiness when she’s unwrapped…I’m not surprised you wanted to show her off ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love the felt and print fabric combo ~ She’s just beautiful~ Another perfectly Mrs. P Creation!

      1. LOL SO, you too suffer from…Can’t focus before 10.0 am or after 2.0 pm syndrome too?!! The precious hours of visibility, I find, are such a wonder these days!
        Your work always deserves the very best of comments!!….I am always so in awe of your beautiful creations ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. It’s soo dull here at the mo it’s more like hand sewing time is between the hours of 12 and 1 pm.
        Thank you for you supportive comments regarding my handicrafts ~ you are an inspiration and guiding light, it still amazes me how much talent is evident in Blogland to see everyone’s work is simply breathtaking

      3. I totally agree!! to see and share in the delights of many many talented people and their wonderful creations is always so exciting ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Hope the weeks brighten up soon…miserable weather ;-/

      4. The novelty of it getting dark at 4.30 pm has worn off already !! Still 4 weeks today and it’s the shortest day then the days will v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y begin drawing out again … not that I’m counting the days you understand ~who am I kidding I AM ๐Ÿ™‚

      5. OMGoodness, I too am ticking off the very seconds till the light starts returning!!… up here the sun diminishes around 3.45/4.0 pm on a good day ;-/ I’m rapidly running out of penny candles even working in the mid afternoon =( If the light doesn’t improve soon we’ll have no hay mattress left as I’m wrapping hay around the candles for a longer burn time!! Hope Dearest doesn’t notice!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      6. I’m sure Dearest hasn’t a clue LOL
        All the hand stitching I’ve been doing of late which I think is OK ..when I catch sight of it the next sunny day will have me gasping in horror ๐Ÿ™‚

      7. Caren you say the dearest of things which push me to try just that little harder, I don’t think you realise just how much I value your comments x

      8. Whatever my musings ~should make no never mind!!..Your work(wo)manship and beautiful creations are from your heart!!! AND, long may they unfold into reality! Which is clear to see and sense from my very own Mrs. P knitted wonders!…My very own Wallis Russell and Lamb have love coming out of their every stitch each time I pick them up ๐Ÿ˜‰ NEVER, Never underestimate your beautiful work….we just all need to be discovered on a wider scale…me thinks lol ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope the World find us soon…’cos, for sure, they ARE missing out…BIG TIME!!

      9. Awwww thank you for the pep talk ~tiredness, dull weather and lack of crafting plays tricks on the mind LOL
        The world needs to brace its self if we are to enter stage right ๐Ÿ™‚

      10. This could turn into a very leisurely waltz with the extra, DOUBLE hiccup steps to accommodate us both ~ we could take dance lessons…though I think, that would spoil our originality somewhat LOL

      11. Wow!! thinking about it…how good is this foggy weather!! Savings;
        *Hand full of shampoo
        *Buckets of water trundled from village pond to rinse
        *Pedal generated electricity to dry, said mop into bird’s nest style!!
        *Sugar syrup spray to set
        **HOURS AND HOURS to remove ‘glued bugs’ from sugar syrup sprayed hair
        AND
        * A day’s worth of Lippy
        Bring it on…Everyday I say…LOL!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Thanks for the name suggestion I rather like Mary. She took so long probably because I’ve not done much hand stitching for many a while !! I even marked my finger so I could get each stitch 2mm apart ~ a sign of dedication …or madness ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I do the same when I stitch with blanket stitch! It is helpful indeed! She’s so lovely and she recalls spring! It’s Margot for me… I don’t know why but it is…

    1. Aww thank you Cobs, your very generous gift of a glue melter is still shouting me from its package, but this little bunny demanded so much attention. I also have a post stage left about said melter ~I haven’t forgotten just ran short on time …AGAIN lol

      1. I’m SO glad you mentioned this … ’cause I forgot to ask at the time … did you find the extra long glue sticks in the box?
        They’re way bigger than you’d normally buy (but you can get them) – but they’re brilliant because you have glue almost ever lasting!
        Hope you found the four big sticks in the box.

        You don’t take the glue out of the gun when you’ve finished. The glue stays in there. When it begins to run out (when it drops just below the window, add another stick into the end and push it gently until you see it meet the end of the other glue stick.

        Happy Melting.

        p.s. … don’t worry about feeling you have to tell me when you use it. It’s yours. Use it whenever you like (or not). I was blessed with it (3 infact), so wanted to spread the happiness.
        ~ C. xxx

      2. Me being me to begin with I thought the extra glue sticks were candles …I can hear you laughing from here, and thanks for the top tips on how to insert the candles into the melter LOL

      3. Well.. to be brutally truthful here …. I remember my first encounter with my first glue gun. I spit blood and feathers over there being NO instructions on how to make this magical gun work!

        Oh, I knew how to plug it in… but was there some special thing I needed to press to allow the glue stick to enter that chamber? I pushed it in a little way … but nothing happened. I was scared stiff to push it too far and wreck the darn thing.

        Worked it out eventually … and the rest, as they say, is history. ๐Ÿ™‚

      4. Even with your top tips I’m sure I’ll be gluing K9’s ear to my knee or something equally absurd LOL
        Watch this space for a running commentary of mishaps

      5. erm … if you’re even a bit of an accident waiting to happen … just keep a mug or jug of cold water on your work surface or next to you while you glue. Because … that hot glue is the same as Molten Lava. If you get it on your fingers (or worse still – on your nail) you’ll suddenly find out that you know FAR more swear words than you’d admit to your mother. I cannot say this louder … IT BURNS YOUR FINGER ENOUGH TO REMOVE YOUR FINGERPRINTS. and I’m not joshing.

        I’ve used glue guns for .. oh, I honestly don’t know how long … and I STILL burn myself on them. Please be really careful. Keep cold water next to you – and if you get glue on your fingers, keep your finger in there for a long enough time, because it doesn’t go cold straight away as you might expect. It takes a moment – but that moment feels like a couple of hours when it burns your finger! eeeek.

      6. As a connoisseur of swear words I’ll heed your advice to the letter !! I kinda need / appreciate having finger prints and I’ll make sure K9 & NC keep their distance, thank you once again for your advice even though I’m now comparing the glue melter to a Kalashnikov *eeeeeeekk indeed*

  2. a name? nothing springs to mind quickly; she is very sweet.
    Wish we had rain! It’s hot and dry here- Thirty degrees plus. the garden is shrivelling. The trend in Australia nowadays is to drought tolerant plants, but I do love roses and poppies and cornflowers and lilies … spring bulbs no longer like this climate- they used to. Something to do with climate change perhaps?

    1. Reading your comment you have actually given me a name without realising it …FLEUR so many thanks for commenting ๐Ÿ™‚ sending you a wish for rain soon

    1. My blogs are shorter due to working long stretches at work ~ studying like crazy ~ and trying to have a life in between, yet my love of blogging keeps pulling me back ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you for calling by the cottage, I’ll pop all the names in the random generator to see who has the honour of having their name bestowed on ‘Bunny’

  3. Uh-oh! I hope I don’t miss the boat for naming the bunny! I thought Flora when I saw the photos… And there seem to be a lot of flower-inspired names on your list already! She really is lovely… And I’m glad to see I’m not the only loony out there who insists on sewing things by hand, even in these pretty much daylight-free times!

      1. Tell me about it! Last week I was working away with three lamps pointed at me… I’m not looking forward to our next electricity bill! ๐Ÿ˜† I think your sweet little bunny was totally worth all the potential eye strain though. ๐Ÿ˜€

      2. Awww thank you, all the lamps pointing at you will be good preparation for the paparazzi cameras waiting outside Beastie Towers for you & your amazing Beasties ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

